The Boat Runner (Paperback)

The Boat Runner Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem.

On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory.

When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life--and his life's mission--forever.

Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062658012
ISBN-10: 0062658018
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: September 5th, 2017
Pages: 400
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

 

 

 

 

 


Small Busines Saturday - We are excited to celebrate small businesses in Southwest MI! Shop Local!

Saturday, November 25

To celebrate Small Business Saturday, we're giving away a free book with a purchase of $20 or up (Advanced Reader's Copy). We will also be open until 8:00 PM. 

Book Signing and Storytimes with Leslie Helakoski

1:00-3:00 PM (Storytimes Ongoing)

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Patrica Polacco Signs her books

 Sunday, December 3, 3-5 PM

 Children's author Patricia Polacco will be visiting the St. Joseph schools

 and will also sign her books at Forever Books!

 Time at this event is limited, so a receipt with a time slot and number is required in advance. Click here for more info,   including guidelines for how her signing will run.

 

 

 

The Elf on the Shelf Search

Daily, until December 21st

The Elf on the Shelf is hiding in downtown Saint Joseph! Find him and win your own Elf.

Click here for more info and rules of the search...