The Fifth Petal (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Fifth Petal Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


A teenage boy dies mysteriously on Halloween.

A homeless women is blamed, who claims a banshee residing within her is responsible.  Salem’s Police Chief believes it is connected to the unsolved Goddess Murders of 1989.   Discover some of Salem’s dark secrets in this multilayered novel, where we travel between past and present to discover the truth.   Captivating read.

— From Diana's Picks

Description


Could a witch hunt happen again in Salem?

For readers of Deborah Harkness's A Discovery of Witches, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader Brunonia Barry returns to Salem with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder.

When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween night, Salem's chief of police, John Rafferty, wonders if there is a connection between his death and Salem's most notorious cold case, a triple homicide dubbed "The Goddess Murders," in which three young women, all descended from accused Salem witches, were slashed on Halloween night in 1989. He finds unexpected help in Callie Cahill, the daughter of one of the victims newly returned to town. Neither believes that the main suspect, Rose Whelan, respected local historian, is guilty of murder or witchcraft.

But exonerating Rose might mean crossing paths with a dangerous force. Were the women victims of an all-too-human vengeance, or was the devil raised in Salem that night? And if they cannot discover what truly happened, will evil rise again?

About the Author


Brunonia Barry is the New York Times and international best selling author of The Lace Reader, The Map of True Places, and her latest book: The Fifth Petal. Her work has been translated into more than thirty languages. She was the first American author to win the International Women's Fiction Festival's Baccante Award and was a past recipient of Ragdale Artists' Colony's Strnad Invitational Fellowship as well as the winner of New England Book Festival's award for Best Fiction. Her reviews and articles on writing have appeared in the London Times and the Washington Post, and the Huffington Post. Brunonia co-chairs the Salem Athenaeum's Writers' Committee. She lives in Salem with her husband Gary Ward and their dog, Angel. Gary and Bru are the organizers of the Salem Literary Festival.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781101905609
ISBN-10: 1101905603
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Publication Date: January 24th, 2017
Pages: 448
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Storytime with Poppy Returns!

Thursday, January 18 at 10:45

We will be reading A Magical Winter and Open Very Carefully: A Book with Bite.

(Click Poppy's picture for more info on these books and event.)

20% off entire purchase for all attendees.

 Paddington Bear visits Forever Books

Saturday, February 3 from 2-3:30.

During the downtown Magical Ice Carving Festival.

Fresh off his new movie, Paddington Bear visits Forever Books! There will be storytimes throughout and opportunities for children to be photographed with Paddington.