The Chilbury Ladies' Choir (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir Cover Image
$26.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


It’s 1940, and in Chilbury, Kent, England, the women are doing their best to maintain morale and that includes keeping the choir going despite the lack of male voices. Reminiscent of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the PBS series Home Fires, it captures the experience of the war from a woman’s perspective. If you like home-front and small English village settings you’ll enjoy this.

— From Robin's Picks

February 2017 Indie Next List


“This gorgeous novel grabbed me from the very first page with laughter and kept me hooked with characters that are vivid and lovable. As each woman shares her place in the intrigue, romance, sorrow, and friendship of Chilbury and World War II through letters and diaries, their lives become increasingly real, until you can hardly believe this is fiction. At the center of the story is the indomitable Chilbury Ladies' Choir and when their individual triumphs and sorrows wind together during their performances, Ryan's writing reaches a soulful crescendo that will continue to echo in readers' hearts. Fans of Helen Simonson should not miss this beautiful debut.”
— Grace Wright, Parnassus Books, Nashville, TN

Description


NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"A delightful debut."--People

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar's stuffy edict to close the choir and instead "carry on singing," resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies' Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past.

An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan's debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.

About the Author


JENNIFER RYAN lives in the Washington, DC area with her husband and two children. Originally from Kent and then London, she was previously a nonfiction book editor.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781101906750
ISBN-10: 1101906758
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Publication Date: February 14th, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Storytime with Poppy Returns!

Thursday, January 18 at 10:45

We will be reading A Magical Winter and Open Very Carefully: A Book with Bite.

(Click Poppy's picture for more info on these books and event.)

20% off entire purchase for all attendees.

 

 

 Paddington Bear visits Forever Books

Saturday, February 3 from 2-3:30.

During the downtown Magical Ice Carving Festival.

Fresh off his new movie, Paddington Bear visits Forever Books! There will be storytimes throughout and opportunities for children to be photographed with Paddington.