Endling #1: The Last (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Endling #1: The Last Cover Image
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Endling series.

Staff Reviews


Byx is a dairnes (looks like a dog, but talks and walks on hind legs), the last of his kind, an endling, but is on a dangerous journey to find more dairnes, traveling with species he cant trust, humans in particular.  Exciting first installment of a series by the Newbery Award winner who wrote, The One and Only Ivan.

— From Kids and Teen Books

Summer 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Rats, rats, rats...as I got closer to the end I realized this must be book #1 in a series! Byx is such a wonderful creative character (with her abilities of gliding and determining whether or not a speaker is lying) along with Tobble and his fierce loyalty to Byx. This book gives us much to think about and compare to today's world with taking care of creatures, (including humans) and the environment. I can't wait to read where their adventures will take them in the next book!”
— Nancy Gebhardt, The Twig Book Shop, San Antonio, TX

Description


New York Times bestseller from the beloved author of the action-packed Animorphs series and the award-winning The One and Only Ivan.

In this first book of an epic middle grade series, Katherine Applegate takes us on an unforgettable journey. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra.

After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true.

Along the way, she meets new allies—both animals and humans alike—who each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of family—one that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.

Building on the success of her critically acclaimed novels The One and Only Ivan, Crenshaw, and Wishtree, while also returning to her action-packed fantasy roots of Animorphs, the Endling series is Katherine Applegate at her finest. With its enthralling characters, unique setting, and gripping adventure, this series is the perfect next read for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland.

Don't miss the second book in the series, Endling #2: The First!

About the Author


Katherine Applegate is the Newbery Medal–winning and #1 New York Times bestselling author of numerous books, including The One and Only Ivan, The One and Only Bob, Crenshaw, Wishtree, the Endling series, the Roscoe Riley Rules chapter book series, and the Animorphs series, which she coauthored with her husband, Michael Grant. Katherine lives with her husband and their children in California. You can visit her online at www.katherineapplegate.com or visit www.theoneandonlyivan.com.

Praise For…


★ “Applegate effortlessly constructs her fantasy world, briskly moving readers through its imaginative details while creating winning, unique characters. This epic series starter is a bracing, propulsive read that will be a challenge to keep on the shelf.”
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

★ “Fantasy lovers are in for a treat with this smartly paced, enthralling adventure. The heart and courage Byx and her companions must find as they stand up against unimaginable odds will inspire and delight. A sweeping fantasy epic that will have readers clamoring for a follow-up.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

★ “Applegate skillfully builds a fully realized world of intrigue and wonder without ever letting up on the story’s quick pace. Themes of genocide, conservation, and magic are interwoven, providing thought-provoking questions for astute readers. A savvy choice for readers of fantasy.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★ “A suspenseful, tautly drawn quest.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Endling: The Last blends careful and often lovely prose into a wild, fast-paced fantasy. Readers will fall in love with Byx and race with her through Nedarra, breathless and eager, thinking deeply all the way.”
New York Times Book Review

“The first book in a new series, this volume will whet readers’ appetites for more of Byx’s fascinating world and the next stage of her quest. Give this to lovers of animal fantasies and environmentally minded readers.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for The One and Only Ivan: ★ “Will capture readers’ hearts and never let go. A must have.“
— School Library Journal (starred review)

★ “Exemplifies everything youngsters need to know about courage.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★ “Animal-loving youngsters and their adults will find plenty of food for thought in Ivan’s extraordinary story.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062335548
ISBN-10: 0062335545
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 5th, 2019
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Endling

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

We're happy to see you again in the store, largely thanks to your ongoing support of donations, book orders, and words of encourangement and love during the shut down❤️! There are some new conditions and store hours in place; please read over before you visit...

 

⭐️Masks must be worn by everyone over the age of three except for Poppy.


⭐️Staff will be wearing face shields.

⭐️ An acrylic counter shield is in place with hand sanitizer on counter. Charge card transactions are contact-free with no need to sign. As always, we take Apple Pay.  

⭐️ We are still offering contact-free pick up in our entryway. Call the store for ordering or order online and choose in-store pick up. Please choose "pay at store" instead of credit card pay if you would like your purchase to go towards your Forever Friends rewards account. You can then pay at pick up or over phone.  

⭐️Regrettably, our chairs have been removed except for one for persons with special needs. The children's play table and chairs have also been removed.
 

⭐️ At this time, our restroom is not open to the public.  

 

⭐️The front of the store is opened up and fixtures have been moved. While the store is more open, allowing for better socially distant traffic flow, our inventory level is normal for this time of year.  We have been stocking new releases all along, so come see what's new. If you don't see it on our shelves, shipments are arriving in 2-5 days, depending on the book. More non-book items are arriving daily.
 

⭐️ For now, our hours are: Monday-Saturday 10-6

  Sunday 11-5

We look forward to seeing you all soon!

 

Download the free Kobo app here...

Search for eBooks