Endling #1: The Last (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Endling #1: The Last Cover Image
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Endling series.

Staff Reviews


Byx is a dairnes (looks like a dog, but talks and walks on hind legs), the last of his kind, an endling, but is on a dangerous journey to find more dairnes, traveling with species he cant trust, humans in particular.  Exciting first installment of a series by the Newbery Award winner who wrote, The One and Only Ivan.

— From Kids and Teen Books

Summer 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Rats, rats, rats...as I got closer to the end I realized this must be book #1 in a series! Byx is such a wonderful creative character (with her abilities of gliding and determining whether or not a speaker is lying) along with Tobble and his fierce loyalty to Byx. This book gives us much to think about and compare to today's world with taking care of creatures, (including humans) and the environment. I can't wait to read where their adventures will take them in the next book!”
— Nancy Gebhardt, The Twig Book Shop, San Antonio, TX

Description


New York Times bestseller from the beloved author of the action-packed Animorphs series and the award-winning The One and Only Ivan.

In this first book of an epic middle grade series, Katherine Applegate takes us on an unforgettable journey. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra.

After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true.

Along the way, she meets new allies—both animals and humans alike—who each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of family—one that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.

Building on the success of her critically acclaimed novels The One and Only Ivan, Crenshaw, and Wishtree, while also returning to her action-packed fantasy roots of Animorphs, the Endling series is Katherine Applegate at her finest. With its enthralling characters, unique setting, and gripping adventure, this series is the perfect next read for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland.

Don't miss the second book in the series, Endling #2: The First!

About the Author


Katherine Applegate is the author of The One and Only Ivan, winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller. Her other books include the acclaimed Wishtree, Crenshaw, Home of the Brave, and the Roscoe Riley Rules series. She lives in California with her family. www.endlingbooks.com

Praise For…


★ “Applegate effortlessly constructs her fantasy world, briskly moving readers through its imaginative details while creating winning, unique characters. This epic series starter is a bracing, propulsive read that will be a challenge to keep on the shelf.”
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

★ “Fantasy lovers are in for a treat with this smartly paced, enthralling adventure. The heart and courage Byx and her companions must find as they stand up against unimaginable odds will inspire and delight. A sweeping fantasy epic that will have readers clamoring for a follow-up.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

★ “Applegate skillfully builds a fully realized world of intrigue and wonder without ever letting up on the story’s quick pace. Themes of genocide, conservation, and magic are interwoven, providing thought-provoking questions for astute readers. A savvy choice for readers of fantasy.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★ “A suspenseful, tautly drawn quest.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Endling: The Last blends careful and often lovely prose into a wild, fast-paced fantasy. Readers will fall in love with Byx and race with her through Nedarra, breathless and eager, thinking deeply all the way.”
New York Times Book Review

“The first book in a new series, this volume will whet readers’ appetites for more of Byx’s fascinating world and the next stage of her quest. Give this to lovers of animal fantasies and environmentally minded readers.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for The One and Only Ivan: ★ “Will capture readers’ hearts and never let go. A must have.“
— School Library Journal (starred review)

★ “Exemplifies everything youngsters need to know about courage.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★ “Animal-loving youngsters and their adults will find plenty of food for thought in Ivan’s extraordinary story.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062335548
ISBN-10: 0062335545
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 5th, 2019
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Endling

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

 

As of March 24, we will not be able to be at the store due to the shelter in place mandate.

 

You will still be able to order through our website www.foreverbooks.net or by emailing us at foreverbooks@att.net . All books will be shipped directly from our warehouse. We will contact all customers who have a book order pending.

You can also support us today by purchasing a gift card online. These will be mailed and can be redeemed when we re-open! 

You can also order KOBO ebooks through this website. Create an account through the link on our homepage, right below this message! Then download the app on the Apple or Google Play store, and you can read them on any device. If you have any questions on how to do this, please call (269) 932-8598 and we'll help you though the process.

 

We thank you in advance, and for all the support we’ve received as your community bookstore these 21 years. We hope we will be able to see you soon, dear readers.  Take care of yourselves, and read a good book today!

Robin, Diana, Stephen, Beth, and Poppy

 

 

Download the free Kobo app here...

Search for eBooks