News of the World: A Novel (Paperback)

News of the World: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


National Book Award FinalistFiction

In the aftermath of the Civil War, an aging itinerant news reader agrees to transport a young captive of the Kiowa back to her people in this exquisitely rendered, morally complex, multilayered novel of historical fiction from the author of Enemy Women that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

In the wake of the Civil War, Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels through northern Texas, giving live readings from newspapers to paying audiences hungry for news of the world. An elderly widower who has lived through three wars and fought in two of them, the captain enjoys his rootless, solitary existence.

In Wichita Falls, he is offered a $50 gold piece to deliver a young orphan to her relatives in San Antonio. Four years earlier, a band of Kiowa raiders killed Johanna’s parents and sister; sparing the little girl, they raised her as one of their own. Recently rescued by the U.S. army, the ten-year-old has once again been torn away from the only home she knows.

Their 400-mile journey south through unsettled territory and unforgiving terrain proves difficult and at times dangerous. Johanna has forgotten the English language, tries to escape at every opportunity, throws away her shoes, and refuses to act “civilized.” Yet as the miles pass, the two lonely survivors tentatively begin to trust each other, forming a bond that marks the difference between life and death in this treacherous land.

Arriving in San Antonio, the reunion is neither happy nor welcome. The captain must hand Johanna over to an aunt and uncle she does not remember—strangers who regard her as an unwanted burden. A respectable man, Captain Kidd is faced with a terrible choice: abandon the girl to her fate or become—in the eyes of the law—a kidnapper himself.

Praise For…


“This Western is not to be missed by Jiles’s fans and lovers of Texan historical fiction.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062409218
ISBN-10: 0062409212
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: June 20th, 2017
Pages: 240
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Returning this July! "Where's Waldo in downtown St. Joseph?"

Where's Waldo? All around St. Joseph in the month of July! Pick up your passport from Forever Books on or after July 1st and find Waldo in local stores for a chance to win Where's Waldo prizes.  

A Waldo party and prize drawing will be held on Tuesday, July 31st from 6:30-7:00!

-Snack decorating, a final Waldo hunt in the store, free kid's book (publisher's advanced copy), and prize  drawing. Kids will be split into 2 age groups for activities.

 

 

 

Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss, author of If the Creek Don't Rise

Thursday, August 2 at 6:30 PM at Forever Books

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store to save your seat! For more on this book and event click here...

This intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community unfolds through the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek. With a colorful cast of characters that each contribute a new perspective, If the Creek Don't Rise is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit. 

 

 

 

 

 

“A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy.” Library Journal

“Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and the Mitford series, by Jan Karon.” Starred review, Booklist

 

Book Talk and Signing with Anna Clark, St. Joseph High School graduate and author of The Poisoned City: Flint's Water and the American Urban Tragedy

Thursday, August 2 from 6:00 - 7:30 PM at the St. Joseph Public Library.

Forever Books will be selling books prior to and at the event. Book releases July 10, pre-order this important work today!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bring Home Memories of Southwest Michigan with these Local Interest and History Books!

These local books are only available by calling the store at 269-982-1110 or by email at foreverbook@qtm.net.  Shipping services available.

View 366: A Year-long Visual Story of the St. Joseph Lighthouses is a journey into the changing days and seasons in the shadow of the century-old pair of iconic lighthouses situated in southwestern Michigan. This unique photographic story, chronicled by photographer and writer Laura Kraklau, documents 366 consecutive days of the St. Joseph lighthouses from August 26, 2011, through August 25, 2012. 

$65.00

 

 

Greetings from St Joseph by Robert C. Myers is a pictorial history of the city dating back to 1679. This book’s lively narrative spans the Colonial Era to the 21st century and includes chapters on St. Joseph’s domestic architecture, downtown, industries, transportation, schools, churches, and cultural organizations. Filled with photographs, maps, and drawings. 8 ½” X 11”, 323 p.p., softcover with bibliography and index.

$27.95

 

 

Greetings from Benton Harbor by Robert Myers. Founded on a ship canal in 1860, Benton Harbor became an economic and cultural center in southwest Michigan. The book spans Benton Harbor's history from the early 1800 to the 21st century. This volume of Historic Photobooks brings together a lively narrative and hundreds of vintage photographs from public institutions and private collections. 81/2 x 11", 390pps, softcover with bibliography and index.

$27.95

 

 

Historical Sketches of Berrien County; by Robert C. Myers features a collection of 152 colorful tales about the history of this southwest Michigan county. Learn about a priest’s opposition to teddy bears, the four flags of Niles, Three Oaks’ campaign against the world, and much more. 7 X 8-1/2”, softcover, 275 p.p., bibliography, index, photos, and illustrations.

$23.95

 

Locomotives Along the Lakeshore: Railroads of Berrien County, Michigan by curator Robert Myers, relates the history of each railroad line that operated in Berrien County. The 174-page book includes hundreds of photographs of railroad locomotives, depots and train crews, plus endnotes, a bibliography and index. Photographs in the book, most of which have never been published before, come from the History Center’s own collections and those of area museums and libraries, as well as many private collections.

$24.95

 

 

 THE GREAT AMERICAN READ is an eight-part series on PBS that explores and celebrates the power of reading, told through the prism of America’s 100 best-loved novels (as chosen in a national survey).  It investigates how and why writers create their fictional worlds, how we as readers are affected by these stories, and what these 100 different books have to say about our diverse nation and our shared human experience.  There will be a nationwide vote to choose America's most beloved book. Find the 100 book selections here and read and place your vote by clicking on image to the left!