My Plain Jane (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
My Plain Jane Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


(Coming Dec 23 in paperback) What if you could meet a teenage Charlotte Bronte? Who attends boarding school with Jane Eyre (who can see and speak to ghosts)? And they team up with a spiritualist detective to solve a mystery? Well in this fantastic historical fiction/retelling of Jane Eyre, you can, and more! This is an imaginative, funny, gothic novel with a modern feel. I loved it!    -Beth

— From Kids and Teen Books

Description


Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester—and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Bronte, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

About the Author


Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the Unearthly trilogy, The Afterlife of Holly Chase, The Last Time We Say Goodbye, and My Lady Jane and My Plain Jane (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows). She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with her husband, who loves typewriters as much as she does, two cats, two kids, one crazy dog, and a mountain of books. Visit her online at www.cynthiahandbooks.com.



BRODI ASHTON is also the author of Everneath, a VOYA Perfect 10 for 2011; Everbound; and Evertrue; and the coauthor, with Cynthia Hand and Jodi Meadows, of My Lady Jane. She received a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Utah and a master’s degree in international relations from the London School of Economics. Brodi lives in Utah with her family. You can visit her online at www.brodiashton.blogspot.com



Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the Incarnate trilogy, the Orphan Queen duology, and the Fallen Isles trilogy and coauthor of the New York Times bestseller My Lady Jane. Visit her at www.jodimeadows.com.

Praise For…


★ “Holds all the flavor of a juicy period novel yet with the addition of numerous, witty asides. Full of wry humor and laugh-out-loud commentary. The authors’ affection for their source material is abundantly clear in this clever, romantic farce.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★ “A delightfully deadpan deconstruction of a Gothic novel, with a ghost almost no one can see providing the commentary. Marvelously self-aware and almost too clever for its own good.”
— Booklist (starred review)

★ “A madcap story of ghosts, possession, revenge, and murder. Humorously blends fact with fiction and offers a gentler, more hopeful outcome for Charlotte, her siblings, and her heroine.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Reader, it delighted. A fun, supernatural mashup of different literary novels that shines on its own merit.”
— Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR MY LADY JANE: ★ “Wacky, irreverent, and just plain fun. This fantasy-adventure politely tips its hat to history before joyfully punting it out of the way. An utter delight.”
— Booklist (starred review)

★ “An uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Gleefully anachronistic comedy.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Three cheers for this well-written and rollicking revision of history full of timely mannerisms and bold adventure. Those who enjoy clever humor, colorful fantasy, and light romance will savor each page.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“The Tudors meets Monty Python. Prepare to laugh and gasp and clutch your pearls.”
— Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series

“History, humor, and unexpected magic come together in this marvelous story.”
— Jessica Day George, author of Silver in the Blood

“Adventure, intrigue, humor, and romance abound. A great choice for those who enjoy lighthearted, alternative history adventures.”
— School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062652775
ISBN-10: 006265277X
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 26th, 2018
Pages: 464
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Forever Books is your one-stop shopping destination this holiday season: we provide complimentary gift wrapping, can arrange for shipping, and have booksellers with over 50 years of combined experience to help you chose the perfect gift.

 

 Light up the Bluff and Window Wonderland

Friday, December 6 from 7:00-8:30 PM

Light up the Bluff will transform Lake Bluff Park on Friday, December 6, when the mayor flips the switch at dusk and a million lights twinkle on the community tree and holiday-themed displays.

Following the tree lighting, visitors can stroll downtown and enjoy Window Wonderland! Dozens of store fronts will participate in this holiday window decorating event from 7-8:30pm. 

 

21st Annual Reindog Holiday Parade & Storytime

Saturday, December 7 at 4:00 PM

The Annual Reindog Holiday Parade features dressed-up pets and their owners in a variety of holiday garb. Be prepared to see all kinds of costumes from "Santa Bernards" to  

"Reindeer  Rottweilers " -- this is definitely a must-see event. The parade starts at 4:00PM, and Poppy will be participating.

After the parade, come to Forever Books for a special storytime with Poppy. The featured book will be Pig the Elf.

 

Toys come and go, but stories last a lifetime.

Signed books make great gifts!

Two authors sign!

Saturday, December 14th 1 - 3 PM

Laurie Keller Signs her new book, Pluto Gets the Call

Laurie Keller is the bestselling author-illustrator of many books for kids, including Do Unto Otters, Potato Pants!,The Scrambled States of America

and the Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut chapter book mystery series. 

Click here for more info on these authors and event...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amy Young returns to Forever Books to join her friend Laurie Keller in signing at this event!