The In-Between (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The In-Between Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This book is great for kids who love mystery, bravery, and friendship. Two great kids in this book sacrifice themselves for two other friends. My favorite part is when Cooper and Jess mend fences and work together to solve a century old mystery. This book also teaches about a powerful, important feeling: forgiveness. This is a great book for ages 11 and up who love unsolved mysteries and friendship. -Persphone, age 11
— From Kids and Teen Books

Description


A dark, twisty adventure about the forgotten among us and what it means to be seen, from the acclaimed author of The Missing Piece of Charlie O’Reilly.

Cooper is lost. Ever since his father left their family three years ago, he has become distant from his friends, constantly annoyed by his little sister, Jess, and completely fed up with the pale, creepy rich girl who moved in next door and won’t stop staring at him. So when Cooper learns of an unsolved mystery his sister has discovered online, he welcomes the distraction.

It’s the tale of a deadly train crash that occurred a hundred years ago, in which one young boy among the dead was never identified. The only distinguishing mark on him was a strange insignia on his suit coat, a symbol no one had seen before or since. Jess is fascinated by the mystery of the unknown child— because she’s seen the insignia. It’s the symbol of the jacket of the girl next door.

As they uncover more information— and mounting evidence of the girl’s seemingly impossible connection to the tragedy—Cooper and Jess begin to wonder if a similar disaster could be heading to their hometown.

About the Author


Rebecca K. S. Ansari is a former ER doctor. The Missing Piece of Charlie O’Reilly is her first book. She lives in Minnesota with her husband, four sons, and some seriously massive pets. You can visit her online at www.rebeccaansari.com.

Praise For…


"An intriguing mystery and a heartwarming tale of friendship wrapped inside a ghost story, this is a sure hit. With a memorable twist, this title is too good to be missed. Perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and “Goosebumps” grads looking for something a little spookier."
— School Library Journal (starred review)

"The supernatural storyline’s fear is juxtaposed with Cooper’s inner turmoil. The increasingly dangerous supernatural mystery (with an exceptionally well-described climax) is intriguing enough to make this a page-turner, but the characters and their powerfully thematic emotional journeys are what will make the book linger. Haunting, engrossing, and thoughtful."

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"With this eerie, expertly crafted tale, Ansari explores grief, loss, and trauma—both personal and familial. Heartfelt and genuine, this one will speak to readers who feel invisible or overlooked."
Publishers Weekly

"The pace is carefully measured, and there’s plenty of time for readers to sort out the clues and solve elements of the mystery themselves before all is revealed. Ansari never undercuts Cooper and Jess’ loss, either, instead offering an understanding that grief is not a limited resource."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Ansari  writes an engaging fantasy/mystery/family story."
— The Horn Book
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062916099
ISBN-10: 0062916092
Publisher: Walden Pond Press
Publication Date: January 26th, 2021
Pages: 320
Language: English

SUMMER IS HERE AT YOUR COMMUNITY BOOKSTORE...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We offer many ameneties!

-Free gift wrapping.

-Book recommendations

-Contact-Free Shopping: Order and pay over the phone and pick up in our entryway.

-Online shopping: Your order ships directly to any U.S. address.

-Gift Certificates (We will mail too!)

_____________________________________________________________________________

 

Masks must be worn in store by those who are unvaccinated to protect our younger customers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click the Pictures for our Staff Picks...

 Robin's Picks

 

                             

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Diana's Picks