The Silent Corner: A Novel of Suspense (Jane Hawk #1) (Hardcover)

The Silent Corner: A Novel of Suspense (Jane Hawk #1) Cover Image
$28.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING JANE HAWK SERIES

Meet Jane Hawk--a remarkable new heroine certain to become an icon of suspense. "This gripping thriller grabs readers from the first few pages and sweeps them along to the rousing finale."--Booklist

"I very much need to be dead."

These are the chilling words left behind by a man who had everything to live for--but took his own life. In the aftermath, his widow, Jane Hawk, does what all her grief, fear, and fury demand: find the truth, no matter what.

People of talent and accomplishment, people admired and happy and sound of mind, have been committing suicide in surprising numbers. When Jane seeks to learn why, she becomes the most-wanted fugitive in America. Her powerful enemies are protecting a secret so important--so terrifying--that they will exterminate anyone in their way.

But all their power and viciousness may not be enough to stop a woman as clever as they are cold-blooded, as relentless as they are ruthless--and who is driven by a righteous rage they can never comprehend. Because it is born of love.

Don't miss any of Dean Koontz's gripping Jane Hawk thrillers:
THE SILENT CORNER - THE WHISPERING ROOM - THE CROOKED STAIRCASE

Praise for The Silent Corner

"Gripping . . . The paranoia and mystery increase as the story unfolds. . . . Koontz has created a] wonderful character in Jane Hawk. . . . Koontz rocks it again."--Associated Press

"In this era of stingy text-message prose, Mr. Koontz is practically Shakespeare. . . . The Silent Corner brims with both action and emotion."--Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

"The Silent Corner is vintage Dean Koontz: paranoia-fueled suspense . . . sleek and highly realized action, developed characters, and more twists and turns than any two ordinary novels combined. . . . As relevant to current events as it is audacious . . . amongst Dean Koontz's finest contemporary work."--Mystery Scene

"A proven specialist in action scenes, Koontz pulls off some doozies here. . . . The book is full of neat touches. . . . And the prose, as always in a Koontz novel, is first-rate. Perhaps Koontz's leanest, meanest thriller, this initial entry in a new series introduces a smart, appealing heroine who can outthink as well as outshoot the baddest of bad dudes."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

About the Author


Dean Koontz, the author of many #1 New York Times bestsellers, lives in Southern California with his wife, Gerda, their golden retriever, Elsa, and the enduring spirits of their goldens, Trixie and Anna.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780345545992
ISBN-10: 0345545990
Publisher: Bantam
Publication Date: June 20th, 2017
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Jane Hawk

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Returning this July! "Where's Waldo in downtown St. Joseph?"

Where's Waldo? All around St. Joseph in the month of July! Pick up your passport from Forever Books on or after July 1st and find Waldo in local stores for a chance to win Where's Waldo prizes.  

A Waldo party and prize drawing will be held on Tuesday, July 31st from 6:30-7:00!

-Snack decorating, a final Waldo hunt in the store, free kid's book (publisher's advanced copy), and prize  drawing. Kids will be split into 2 age groups for activities.

 

 

 

Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss, author of If the Creek Don't Rise

Thursday, August 2 at 6:30 PM at Forever Books

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store to save your seat! For more on this book and event click here...

This intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community unfolds through the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek. With a colorful cast of characters that each contribute a new perspective, If the Creek Don't Rise is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit. 

 

 

 

 

 

“A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy.” Library Journal

“Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and the Mitford series, by Jan Karon.” Starred review, Booklist

 

Book Talk and Signing with Anna Clark, St. Joseph High School graduate and author of The Poisoned City: Flint's Water and the American Urban Tragedy

Thursday, August 2 from 6:00 - 7:30 PM at the St. Joseph Public Library.

Forever Books will be selling books prior to and at the event. Book releases July 10, pre-order this important work today!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bring Home Memories of Southwest Michigan with these Local Interest and History Books!

These local books are only available by calling the store at 269-982-1110 or by email at foreverbook@qtm.net.  Shipping services available.

View 366: A Year-long Visual Story of the St. Joseph Lighthouses is a journey into the changing days and seasons in the shadow of the century-old pair of iconic lighthouses situated in southwestern Michigan. This unique photographic story, chronicled by photographer and writer Laura Kraklau, documents 366 consecutive days of the St. Joseph lighthouses from August 26, 2011, through August 25, 2012. 

$65.00

 

 

Greetings from St Joseph by Robert C. Myers is a pictorial history of the city dating back to 1679. This book’s lively narrative spans the Colonial Era to the 21st century and includes chapters on St. Joseph’s domestic architecture, downtown, industries, transportation, schools, churches, and cultural organizations. Filled with photographs, maps, and drawings. 8 ½” X 11”, 323 p.p., softcover with bibliography and index.

$27.95

 

 

Greetings from Benton Harbor by Robert Myers. Founded on a ship canal in 1860, Benton Harbor became an economic and cultural center in southwest Michigan. The book spans Benton Harbor's history from the early 1800 to the 21st century. This volume of Historic Photobooks brings together a lively narrative and hundreds of vintage photographs from public institutions and private collections. 81/2 x 11", 390pps, softcover with bibliography and index.

$27.95

 

 

Historical Sketches of Berrien County; by Robert C. Myers features a collection of 152 colorful tales about the history of this southwest Michigan county. Learn about a priest’s opposition to teddy bears, the four flags of Niles, Three Oaks’ campaign against the world, and much more. 7 X 8-1/2”, softcover, 275 p.p., bibliography, index, photos, and illustrations.

$23.95

 

Locomotives Along the Lakeshore: Railroads of Berrien County, Michigan by curator Robert Myers, relates the history of each railroad line that operated in Berrien County. The 174-page book includes hundreds of photographs of railroad locomotives, depots and train crews, plus endnotes, a bibliography and index. Photographs in the book, most of which have never been published before, come from the History Center’s own collections and those of area museums and libraries, as well as many private collections.

$24.95

 

 

 THE GREAT AMERICAN READ is an eight-part series on PBS that explores and celebrates the power of reading, told through the prism of America’s 100 best-loved novels (as chosen in a national survey).  It investigates how and why writers create their fictional worlds, how we as readers are affected by these stories, and what these 100 different books have to say about our diverse nation and our shared human experience.  There will be a nationwide vote to choose America's most beloved book. Find the 100 book selections here and read and place your vote by clicking on image to the left!