The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


At the turn of the 19th century, feathers were the fashion, leading to the massacre of birds on a massive scale. Unfortunately, in 1999, the hunt began again; people clamored for rare feathers for the new fad: tying flies for salmon fishing. In 2009, an American studying in London took off with hundreds of birds from the Tring Museum. An enthralling account of a truly bizarre crime and Johnsons hunt for the truth.

— From Robin's Picks

Description


"Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller." --Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air

"One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever." --Christian Science Monitor

A rollicking true-crime adventure and a captivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.

On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins--some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them--and escaped into the darkness.

Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.

About the Author


Kirk W. Johnson is the author of To Be a Friend Is Fatal and the founder of the List Project to Resettle Iraqi Allies. His writing has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and the Los Angeles Times, among others. He is the recipient of fellowships from Yaddo, the MacDowell Colony, the American Academy in Berlin, and the USC Annenberg Center.


Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9781101981610
ISBN-10: 110198161X
Publisher: Viking
Publication Date: April 24th, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Tuesday, June 19th, 7:00 PM

Book Talk and Signing with Wade Rouse (writing as Viola Shipman)

author of The Recipe Box 

Treats from recipes in the book will be served, so reservations are requested.

Please call (269) 982-1110 or email. For more info on this event, click here.

 

 

 

 

 

Storytime with Poppy

Thursday, June 21st at 10:45 AM

20% Entire Purchase for all Attendees!

 

Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate

This groovy series from New York Times bestselling team James and Kimberly Dean introduces Pete the Cat before he was Pete the Cat...when he was little Pete the Kitty!

Pete the Kitty is super excited to visit his friend Grumpy Toad’s house for a playdate! Grumpy Toad has all the best toys: a truck, building blocks, and a superhero cape. Far out! It’s going to be cat-tastic! But when Grumpy Toad refuses to share any of his cool toys with Pete, neither of them are having any fun. Will Grumpy Toad ever share his toys with his friend Pete? In this easy-to-read and engaging picture book, little readers will learn all about sharing with their favorite blue kitten!

 

 THE GREAT AMERICAN READ is an eight-part series on PBS that explores and celebrates the power of reading, told through the prism of America’s 100 best-loved novels (as chosen in a national survey).  It investigates how and why writers create their fictional worlds, how we as readers are affected by these stories, and what these 100 different books have to say about our diverse nation and our shared human experience.  There will be a nationwide vote to choose America's most beloved book. Find the 100 book selections here and read and place your vote by clicking on image to the left!

 

Returning this July! "Where's Waldo in downtown St. Joseph?"

Where's Waldo? All around St. Joseph in the month of July! Pick up your passport from Forever Books on or after July 1st and find Waldo in local stores for a chance to win Where's Waldo prizes.  A Waldo party and prize drawing will be held at 6:30 PM on Tuesday, July 31st.