It's Always the Husband: A Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
It's Always the Husband: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


(PB releases May 1) Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny were roommates and friends in college, sticking together through thick and thin. Twenty years later, one of them is dead, and the police are convinced her husband is responsible. But secrets abound, the past will not remain hidden, and the reader is forced to ask whether it is always the husband.  A fine debut mystery.

— From Stephen's Picks

Description


A suspenseful, absorbing novel that examines the complexities of friendship, It’s Always the Husband by Michele Campbell will keep readers guessing right up to its shocking conclusion.

Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny first met as college roommates and soon became inseparable, despite being as different as three women can be. Kate was beautiful, wild, wealthy, and damaged. Aubrey, on financial aid, came from a broken home, and wanted more than anything to distance herself from her past. And Jenny was a striver—brilliant, ambitious, and determined to succeed. As an unlikely friendship formed, the three of them swore they would always be there for each other.

But twenty years later, one of them is standing at the edge of a bridge, and someone is urging her to jump.

How did it come to this?

Kate married the gorgeous party boy, Aubrey married up, and Jenny married the boy next door. But how can these three women love and hate each other? Can feelings this strong lead to murder? When one of them dies under mysterious circumstances, will everyone assume, as is often the case,that it’s always the husband?

"8 Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer" by Buzzfeed • "7 Books You Won't Be Able to Put Down This Month" by InStyle • "20 Must-Read Books for Spring 2017" by Redbook

Praise for It's Always the Husband:

"If you loved Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, put this thriller on the top of your list…you won’t be sure “whodunit” until the very (shocking) end.—Today

A page-turning whodunnit that will speak to anyone who’s ever had a frenemy.” –Ruth Ware, bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin Ten

"This book is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies." –Redbook Magazine

"Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn meet your next obsession." —BuzzFeed

"In the tradition of Big Little Lies comes the excellently titled It's Always the Husband, a thriller about three friends–frenemies, really–who met as college roommates." –New York Post

About the Author


A graduate of Harvard University and Stanford Law School, Michele Campbell worked at a prestigious Manhattan law firm before spending eight years fighting crime as a federal prosecutor in New York City.

Michele is the author of She Was the Quiet One and It's Always the Husband.

Praise For…


Praise for It's Always the Husband:

A page-turning whodunnit that will speak to anyone who’s ever had a frenemy.” –Ruth Ware, bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin Ten

"This book is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies." –Redbook Magazine

"Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn meet your next obsession." —BuzzFeed

"In the tradition of Big Little Lies comes the excellently titled It's Always the Husband, a thriller about three friends–frenemies, really–who met as college roommates." –New York Post

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250081810
ISBN-10: 1250081815
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: May 2018
Pages: 352
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Forever Books Turns 20 in 2019!

April 1 was our 20th anniversary and we so enjoyed celebrating with so many of our customers and friends! 

 

As always, thank you for making us your community book store! 

Thanks also to the Herald Palladium for their story on our 20 years!

 

 

 

Thursday, April 25th at 7:00 PM

Book Signing with best selling author, Wade Rouse (writing as Viola Shipman), author of The Summer Cottage

For more info on this event and author, click here. Reservations requested. Call or email the store.

The Summer Cottage releases April 23. Pre-Order your copy today!