When Summer Ends: A Novel (Hardcover)

When Summer Ends: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Three months
Two changed fates
One chance to fall in love

Aiden Emerson is an all-star pitcher and the all-around golden boy of Riverton. Or at least he was, before he quit the team the last day of junior year without any explanation. How could he tell people he’s losing his vision at seventeen?

Straight-laced Olivia thought she had life all figured out. But when her dream internship falls apart, her estranged mother comes back into her life, and her longtime boyfriend ghosts her right before summer break, she starts to think fate has a weird sense of humor.

Each struggling to find a new direction, Aiden and Olivia decide to live summer by chance, letting coin flips, card pulls, and rock, paper, scissors make all the hard decisions. Every fleeting adventure and stolen kiss is as fragile as a coin flip in this heartfelt journey to love and self-discovery from the author of Love Songs & Other Lies.

About the Author


Jessica Pennington is no stranger to the combination of love and drama. She’s a wedding planner, after all. A writer since the age of ten—when she sought publication for her poem about a tree—Jessica likes the challenge of finding the humor in a sad situation or highlighting the awkwardness in a romantic one. She lives in a Michigan beach town suspiciously similar to the one in her novel, with her husband Josh and their son, Rory. Love Songs & Other Lies is her debut novel.

Praise For…


“Bringing the small-town Michigan setting evocatively to the forefront, Pennington’s sophomore novel captures the pleasures of new love.”—Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Love Songs & Other Lies

“A captivating read and a great pick for fans of Morgan Matson and Emery Lord!”—RT Book Reviews

“Filled with lyrics, love, and late nights, Pennington's debut novel will appeal to romance fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti.”–School Library Journal

“Pennington’s debut is a light road-tripping romance about redemption and the love of music.”—Publishers Weekly

“Reading Cam & Vee's past and present romance reminds me of This is Us! This is going on my keeper shelf.”—Simone Elkeles, New York Times & USA Today bestselling author

Love Songs & Other Lies is a music-infused romance about a pair of perfectly imperfect teenagers who will have readers rooting for their happily ever after.”—Katy Upperman, author of Kissing Max Holden

“Boys in bands, second chance romance, and pitch-perfect chemistry. Love Songs & Other Lies hits all the right notes!”—Gina Ciocca, author of Last Year's Mistake

“Fun and full of heart, with a hero who stole my heart!”—Katie McGarry, author of Pushing the Limits

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250187338
ISBN-10: 1250187338
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: April 9th, 2019
Pages: 288
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

 

 

Save the Date! Tuesday, February 25 at 7:00 PM

Winter Favorites- Hear the staff of Forever Books share reviews of their favorite new books for the season!

-20% off entire purchase that evening

 

-Free book (Advance Reader's Copy) 

Reservations Required. Please call or email the store to save your seat!

 

 

 

The Heritage Museum and Cultural Center presents a special Exhibit Opening: Proclaiming Emancipation

Thursday, February 27 at 601 Main St., Saint Joseph

Free to the public ($5 suggested donation). Beer & Wine available for purchase.

5:00 - 6:45 PM Exhibition Preview and Cocktail Reception with the 102nd USCT Black History Group

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7:00 - 8:30 PM Keynote: "Pioneers and Patriots: The Hidden Histories of Michigan's Black Founding Citizens" by Dr. Anna-lisa Cox

 The long-hidden stories of America's black pioneers, the frontier they settled, and their fight for the heart of the nation.

 

 

 

 

 

Book Sales managed by Forever Books. Stop in, call or email the store to purchase your copy in advance.