The Boy at the Keyhole (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Boy at the Keyhole Cover Image
$25.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Samuel lives a lonely life in a run-down manor, his only companion the strict housekeeper Ruth.  His mother has been gone for months, supposedly tending to his late father’s business interests abroad. But Samuel starts to suspect that his mother is in fact dead, killed by Ruth. And so begins a cat-and-mouse game between the two. An excellent, suspenseful mystery that has been compared to the works of Daphne Du Maurier and Shirley Jackson.

— From Stephen's Picks

Description


"A fiendishly efficient, gorgeously written, nasty little thrill ride of a psychological thriller. I couldn't put it down, and it's entirely possible that I'll never sleep again. A true tour-de-force of a debut novel."--Lyndsay Faye, author of The Gods of Gotham and Jane Steele

For fans of Shirley Jackson, Sarah Waters and Daphne du Maurier, an electrifying debut about a boy left alone in his family's English estate with a housekeeper he suspects has murdered his mother

Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once-great estate in Surrey with the family's housekeeper, Ruth. His father is dead and his mother has been abroad for months, purportedly tending to her late husband's faltering business. She left in a hurry one night while Samuel was sleeping and did not say goodbye.

Beyond her sporadic postcards, Samuel hears nothing from his mother. He misses her dearly and maps her journey in an atlas he finds in her study. Samuel's life is otherwise regulated by Ruth, who runs the house with an iron fist. Only she and Samuel know how brutally she enforces order.

As rumors in town begin to swirl, Samuel wonders whether something more sinister is afoot. Perhaps his mother did not leave but was murdered--by Ruth.

Artful, haunting and hurtling toward a psychological showdown, The Boy at the Keyhole is an incandescent debut about the precarious dance between truth and perception, and the shocking acts that occur behind closed doors.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781335652928
ISBN-10: 1335652922
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Forever Books is your one-stop shopping destination this holiday season: we provide complimentary gift wrapping, can arrange for shipping, and have booksellers with over 50 years of combined experience to help you chose the perfect gift.

 

 Light up the Bluff and Window Wonderland

Friday, December 6 from 7:00-8:30 PM

Light up the Bluff will transform Lake Bluff Park on Friday, December 6, when the mayor flips the switch at dusk and a million lights twinkle on the community tree and holiday-themed displays.

Following the tree lighting, visitors can stroll downtown and enjoy Window Wonderland! Dozens of store fronts will participate in this holiday window decorating event from 7-8:30pm. 

 

21st Annual Reindog Holiday Parade & Storytime

Saturday, December 7 at 4:00 PM

The Annual Reindog Holiday Parade features dressed-up pets and their owners in a variety of holiday garb. Be prepared to see all kinds of costumes from "Santa Bernards" to  

"Reindeer  Rottweilers " -- this is definitely a must-see event. The parade starts at 4:00PM, and Poppy will be participating.

After the parade, come to Forever Books for a special storytime with Poppy. The featured book will be Pig the Elf.

 

Toys come and go, but stories last a lifetime.

Signed books make great gifts!

Two authors sign!

Saturday, December 14th 1 - 3 PM

Laurie Keller Signs her new book, Pluto Gets the Call

Laurie Keller is the bestselling author-illustrator of many books for kids, including Do Unto Otters, Potato Pants!,The Scrambled States of America

and the Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut chapter book mystery series. 

Click here for more info on these authors and event...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amy Young returns to Forever Books to join her friend Laurie Keller in signing at this event!