The Boy at the Keyhole (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Boy at the Keyhole Cover Image
$25.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Samuel lives a lonely life in a run-down manor, his only companion the strict housekeeper Ruth.  His mother has been gone for months, supposedly tending to his late father’s business interests abroad. But Samuel starts to suspect that his mother is in fact dead, killed by Ruth. And so begins a cat-and-mouse game between the two. An excellent, suspenseful mystery that has been compared to the works of Daphne Du Maurier and Shirley Jackson.

— From Stephen's Picks

Description


"A fiendishly efficient, gorgeously written, nasty little thrill ride of a psychological thriller. I couldn't put it down, and it's entirely possible that I'll never sleep again. A true tour-de-force of a debut novel."--Lyndsay Faye, author of The Gods of Gotham and Jane Steele For fans of Shirley Jackson, Sarah Waters and Daphne du Maurier, an electrifying debut about a boy left alone in his family's English estate with a housekeeper he suspects has murdered his mother Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once-great estate in Surrey with the family's housekeeper, Ruth. His father is dead and his mother has been abroad for months, purportedly tending to her late husband's faltering business. She left in a hurry one night while Samuel was sleeping and did not say goodbye.Beyond her sporadic postcards, Samuel hears nothing from his mother. He misses her dearly and maps her journey in an atlas he finds in her study. Samuel's life is otherwise regulated by Ruth, who runs the house with an iron fist. Only she and Samuel know how brutally she enforces order.As rumors in town begin to swirl, Samuel wonders whether something more sinister is afoot. Perhaps his mother did not leave but was murdered--by Ruth.Artful, haunting and hurtling toward a psychological showdown, The Boy at the Keyhole is an incandescent debut about the precarious dance between truth and perception, and the shocking acts that occur behind closed doors.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781335652928
ISBN-10: 1335652922
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Forever Books Turns 20 in 2019!

April 1 was our 20th anniversary and we so enjoyed celebrating with so many of our customers and friends! 

 

As always, thank you for making us your community book store! 

Thanks also to the Herald Palladium for their story on our 20 years!

 

 

 

 

Celebrate Father's Day with a special story time and book signing with Natalie Ziarnik, author of A Lullaby of Summer Things

Sunday, June 16 from 1:00-3:00 PM

 

 

 

 

  Thursday, June 27 at 6:30 PM

 Book Signing with Chuck Nelson and

 Richard Schinkel, local authors of Nature Nuggets