The Boy at the Keyhole (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Boy at the Keyhole Cover Image
$25.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Samuel lives a lonely life in a run-down manor, his only companion the strict housekeeper Ruth.  His mother has been gone for months, supposedly tending to his late father’s business interests abroad. But Samuel starts to suspect that his mother is in fact dead, killed by Ruth. And so begins a cat-and-mouse game between the two. An excellent, suspenseful mystery that has been compared to the works of Daphne Du Maurier and Shirley Jackson.

— From Stephen's Picks

Description


"A fiendishly efficient, gorgeously written, nasty little thrill ride of a psychological thriller. I couldn't put it down, and it's entirely possible that I'll never sleep again. A true tour-de-force of a debut novel."--Lyndsay Faye, author of The Gods of Gotham and Jane Steele

For fans of Shirley Jackson, Sarah Waters and Daphne du Maurier, an electrifying debut about a boy left alone in his family's English estate with a housekeeper he suspects has murdered his mother

Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once-great estate in Surrey with the family's housekeeper, Ruth. His father is dead and his mother has been abroad for months, purportedly tending to her late husband's faltering business. She left in a hurry one night while Samuel was sleeping and did not say goodbye.

Beyond her sporadic postcards, Samuel hears nothing from his mother. He misses her dearly and maps her journey in an atlas he finds in her study. Samuel's life is otherwise regulated by Ruth, who runs the house with an iron fist. Only she and Samuel know how brutally she enforces order.

As rumors in town begin to swirl, Samuel wonders whether something more sinister is afoot. Perhaps his mother did not leave but was murdered--by Ruth.

Artful, haunting and hurtling toward a psychological showdown, The Boy at the Keyhole is an incandescent debut about the precarious dance between truth and perception, and the shocking acts that occur behind closed doors.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781335652928
ISBN-10: 1335652922
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

 

As of March 24, we will not be able to be at the store due to the shelter in place mandate.

 

You will still be able to order through our website www.foreverbooks.net or by emailing us at foreverbooks@att.net . All books will be shipped directly from our warehouse. We will contact all customers who have a book order pending.

You can also support us today by purchasing a gift card online. These will be mailed and can be redeemed when we re-open! 

You can also order KOBO ebooks through this website. Create an account through the link on our homepage, right below this message! Then download the app on the Apple or Google Play store, and you can read them on any device. If you have any questions on how to do this, please call (269) 932-8598 and we'll help you though the process.

 

We thank you in advance, and for all the support we’ve received as your community bookstore these 21 years. We hope we will be able to see you soon, dear readers.  Take care of yourselves, and read a good book today!

Robin, Diana, Stephen, Beth, and Poppy

 

 

Download the free Kobo app here...

Search for eBooks