Things in Jars (Large Print / Library Binding)

Things in Jars Cover Image
$31.99
Not Yet Published

February 2020 Indie Next List


“Set in Victorian England, Things in Jars feels like a Sherlock Holmes story, if Holmes had been a woman. You can’t help but love Bridie Devine, a strong-willed, chain-smoking woman who has clawed her way from life as an orphaned thief to a highly sought-after detective often consulted by Scotland Yard. Bridie’s newest case, though, is proving difficult and incredibly strange. Not only will it force her to confront someone from her past who she thought was dead, she’ll also team up with an actual ghost as she solves a fantastical crime. Highly imaginative, Things in Jars is a fun and immersive read.”
— Jamie Southern, Bookmarks, Winston-Salem, NC

Description


In this "miraculous and thrilling" (Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author) mystery for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation, Victorian London comes to life as an intrepid female sleuth wades through a murky world of collectors and criminals to recover a remarkable child.

Bridie Devine--flame-haired, pipe-smoking detective extraordinaire--is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors in this age of discovery.

Winding her way through the sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won't rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing secrets about her past that she'd rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot-tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where nothing is quite what it seems.

Blending darkness and light, Things in Jars is a stunning, "richly woven tapestry of fantasy, folklore, and history" (Booklist, starred review) that explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781432880323
ISBN-10: 1432880322
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: January 15th, 2022
Language: English

We are here to help you this holiday season!

Come in, browse, and get hand-picked suggestions from our staff. Shop from the safety and convenience of your home on this website. Or simply call or email us and tell us how we can help you! 

For those of you concerned about shopping with others in the store, we are providing individual shopping appointments on Tuesdays (6-8pm) and Sundays (5-7pm) in December (December 1-20). Please click here for more details or simply call or email the store to schedule! 

Masks must be worn in store by everyone over the age of three, except for Poppy.

We offer many ameneties!

-Free gift wrapping.

-Contact-Free Shopping: Order and pay over the phone and pick up in our entryway.

-Individual Shopping Appointments.

-Online shopping: Your order ships directly to any U.S. address.

-Gift Certificates (We will mail too!)

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click the Pictures for more Reading and Gift Suggestions...