The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Part Agatha Christie, part time-travel, part Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, this stunning book is original, creative, unexpected, and totally engrossing.  British author Turton is a brilliant storyteller:  His main character awakens in a forest with no memory of who he is and the name of the woman he is shouting. He also discovers he is not the person he sees in the mirror and knows none of the people gathered for the 19th anniversary of the death of the owner's child. Nothing formulaic here! (Warning: 5 am reading!) Quite simply, the most astonishing mystery I've read in twenty years as a bookseller.

— From Robin's Picks

October 2018 Indie Next List


“I hadn't known how badly I needed to escape my own life and sink into someone else's. Or in this case-- many lives. The multiple perspectives gives this book a mind-blowing mash-up feeling of Clue and the best Agatha Christie. There's a certain delicious joy to being confused and then ignoring the rest of the world while you read, desperate to discover the answers. Sure it's the basic premise of a mystery, but for some readers it's a forgotten joy in need of reviving. Fun, inventive and thoroughly entertaining, perhaps leave your own reality reading is the new binge watching.”
— Beth Reynolds, Norwich Bookstore, Norwich, VT

Summer 2019 Reading Group Indie Next List


“Evelyn Hardcastle will die tonight, at her own party, unless Aiden can figure out who the murderer is before it happens. How? He will spend a day inside the bodies of different guests at the estate, repeating the day over and over until he can solve the case. As he cycles through his ‘hosts,’ Aiden begins to recover memories of who he is, why he is trapped in this bizarre loop, and how to escape once and for all. A meld of golden-age mystery, surreal futurism, and period drama, this book is fresh, strange, and maddeningly (yet satisfyingly) complex.”
— Annie Metcalf, Magers & Quinn Booksellers, Minneapolis, MN

Description


"Agatha Christie meets Groundhog Day...quite unlike anything I've ever read, and altogether triumphant."--A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

The Rules of Blackheath
Evelyn Hardcastle will be murdered at 11:00 p.m.
There are eight days, and eight witnesses for you to inhabit.
We will only let you escape once you tell us the name of the killer.
Understood? Then let's begin...

***
Evelyn Hardcastle will die. Every day until Aiden Bishop can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others.

For fans of Claire North and Kate Atkinson, The 71/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive novel that follows one man's race against time to find a killer--but an astonishing time-turning twist means that nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Praise for The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle:
Costa First Novel Award 2018 Winner
One of Stylist Magazine's 20 Must-Read Books of 2018
One of Harper's Bazaar's 10 Must-Read Books of 2018
One of Guardian's Best Books of 2018

Product Details
ISBN: 9781492670124
ISBN-10: 149267012X
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: May 7th, 2019
Pages: 480
Language: English

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Forever Books Turned 20 April 1st, 2019!

Thank you for making us your community book store!

 "Best Place to Buy Books"!

 

 

 

 

 

We have a new email! Please reach us at foreverbooks@att.net!

 

 25th Annual Luminary Festival

 Friday, November 22 from dusk til 8:00 PM

 Book Signing with Pamela Cameron, author of Sport: Ship Dog of the Great Lakes

 Treats will be served.

 

Click here for more info on this author and event!

 

 Sport: Ship Dog of the Great Lakes is Poppy-Approved! 

In 1914 crew members of the lighthouse tender Hyacinth rescued a stray puppy from the Milwaukee River

and named him Sport. For the next twelve years, this charming Newfoundland-retriever mix lived the life of a ship dog.

In this beautifully illustrated children’s book based on historical documents and photographs, readers share in Sport’s

adventures while discovering the various ways lighthouse tender ships helped keep the lake safe for others.

 

 A signed book plus an adorable plush make a great gift combo!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday, November 30th 

We will be open until 8 PM

Come celebrate Small Business Saturday in downtown St. Joseph. Shop small and support the local economy!

Forever Books will be giving away free surprise books (advance readers copies) with a purchase of $20 or more.

See it here --> Buy it here --> Keep us here!