Things in Jars (Compact Disc)

Things in Jars Cover Image
By Jess Kidd, Jacqueline Milne (Read by)
Email or call for price.
Special Order

February 2020 Indie Next List


“Set in Victorian England, Things in Jars feels like a Sherlock Holmes story, if Holmes had been a woman. You can’t help but love Bridie Devine, a strong-willed, chain-smoking woman who has clawed her way from life as an orphaned thief to a highly sought-after detective often consulted by Scotland Yard. Bridie’s newest case, though, is proving difficult and incredibly strange. Not only will it force her to confront someone from her past who she thought was dead, she’ll also team up with an actual ghost as she solves a fantastical crime. Highly imaginative, Things in Jars is a fun and immersive read.”
— Jamie Southern, Bookmarks, Winston-Salem, NC

Description


"Miraculous and thrilling...A few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written." --Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Once Upon a River "A perfect mix of hilarity, the macabre, and a touch of romance, Things in Jars is ridiculously entertaining, all as it sneaks up and makes you feel things...Simply: Jess Kidd is so good it isn't fair." --Erika Swyler, bestselling author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery--perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.Bridie Devine--female detective extraordinaire--is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery. Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won't rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she'd rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems. Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781508299493
ISBN-10: 1508299498
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: February 4th, 2020
Language: English

We are here to help you this holiday season!

Come in, browse, and get hand-picked suggestions from our staff. Shop from the safety and convenience of your home on this website. Or simply call or email us and tell us how we can help you! 

For those of you concerned about shopping with others in the store, we are providing individual shopping appointments on Tuesdays (6-8pm) and Sundays (5-7pm) in December (December 1-20). Please click here for more details or simply call or email the store to schedule! 

Masks must be worn in store by everyone over the age of three, except for Poppy.

We offer many ameneties!

-Free gift wrapping.

-Contact-Free Shopping: Order and pay over the phone and pick up in our entryway.

-Individual Shopping Appointments.

-Online shopping: Your order ships directly to any U.S. address.

-Gift Certificates (We will mail too!)

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click the Pictures for more Reading and Gift Suggestions...