Las Reputaciones (Paperback)

Las Reputaciones Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Out of Print

October 2016 Indie Next List


“With direct and forceful narrative and a translation as smooth and peaceful as the quiet narrator himself, this book takes the reader on a days-long search for the past and the present in modern day Bogota. A prominent political cartoonist is shaken when a forgotten uncertainty from the past resurfaces. This psychological study of the concept that what we believe makes us who we are is a masterpiece!”
— Nicole Magistro (W), The Bookworm of Edwards, Edwards, CO

Description


Javier Mallarino es una leyenda viva. Es el caricaturista pol tico m s
influyente del pa's, #un hombre capaz de causar la revocaci n de una
ley, trastornar el fallo de un magistrado, tumbar a un alcalde o
amenazar gravemente la estabilidad de un ministerio, y eso con las
nicas armas del papel y la tinta china#. Los pol ticos le temen y el
gobierno le hace homenajes. A sus sesenta y cinco a os, despu's de
cuatro d cadas de brillante carrera, puede decir que tiene el pa's a sus
pies. ENGLISH DESCRIPTION Upon meeting Ricardo Laverde, Antonio Yammara suspects his new-found friend is hiding something. His fascination with Laverde's mysterious life becomes an obsession the day Laverde is murdered. El ruido de las cosas al caer is a story about a friendship frustrated by circumstances, a story of love in unfavorable times, an X-ray of a generation trapped by fear, and a suspenseful investigation into the past of a man and of a country.

About the Author


Juan Gabriel Vásquez (Bogotá, 1973) es autor de la colección de relatos Los amantes de Todos los Santos y de las novelas Los informantes, Historia secreta de Costaguana, El ruido de las cosas al caer, Las reputaciones y La forma de las ruinas. Ha publicado también una recopilación de ensayos literarios, El arte de la distorsión, y una breve biografía de Joseph Conrad, El hombre de ninguna parte. Sus libros se publican actualmente en veintiocho lenguas y han merecido, entre otros, el Premio Alfaguara, el English Pen Award, el Premio Gregor von Rezzori-Città di Firenze, el IMPAC International Dublin Literary Award, el Premio Real Academia Española, el Premio Casa de Amèrica Latina de Lisboa y el Premio Roger Caillois por el conjunto de su obra, otorgado anteriormente a escritores como Mario Vargas Llosa, Carlos Fuentes y Ricardo Piglia. Ha traducido obras de Joseph Conrad y Victor Hugo, entre otros, y en 2016 fue nombrado Caballero de la Orden de las Artes y las Letras de la República francesa.


Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9788466328074
ISBN-10: 8466328076
Publisher: Punto de Lectura
Publication Date: February 20th, 2015
Pages: 144
Language: Spanish

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Returning this July! "Where's Waldo in downtown St. Joseph?"

Where's Waldo? All around St. Joseph in the month of July! Pick up your passport from Forever Books on or after July 1st and find Waldo in local stores for a chance to win Where's Waldo prizes.  

A Waldo party and prize drawing will be held on Tuesday, July 31st from 6:30-7:00!

-Snack decorating, a final Waldo hunt in the store, free kid's book (publisher's advanced copy), and prize  drawing. Kids will be split into 2 age groups for activities.

 

 

 

Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss, author of If the Creek Don't Rise

Thursday, August 2 at 6:30 PM at Forever Books

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store to save your seat! For more on this book and event click here...

This intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community unfolds through the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek. With a colorful cast of characters that each contribute a new perspective, If the Creek Don't Rise is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit. 

 

 

 

 

 

“A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy.” Library Journal

“Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and the Mitford series, by Jan Karon.” Starred review, Booklist

 

Book Talk and Signing with Anna Clark, St. Joseph High School graduate and author of The Poisoned City: Flint's Water and the American Urban Tragedy

Thursday, August 2 from 6:00 - 7:30 PM at the St. Joseph Public Library.

Forever Books will be selling books prior to and at the event. Book releases July 10, pre-order this important work today!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bring Home Memories of Southwest Michigan with these Local Interest and History Books!

These local books are only available by calling the store at 269-982-1110 or by email at foreverbook@qtm.net.  Shipping services available.

View 366: A Year-long Visual Story of the St. Joseph Lighthouses is a journey into the changing days and seasons in the shadow of the century-old pair of iconic lighthouses situated in southwestern Michigan. This unique photographic story, chronicled by photographer and writer Laura Kraklau, documents 366 consecutive days of the St. Joseph lighthouses from August 26, 2011, through August 25, 2012. 

$65.00

 

 

Greetings from St Joseph by Robert C. Myers is a pictorial history of the city dating back to 1679. This book’s lively narrative spans the Colonial Era to the 21st century and includes chapters on St. Joseph’s domestic architecture, downtown, industries, transportation, schools, churches, and cultural organizations. Filled with photographs, maps, and drawings. 8 ½” X 11”, 323 p.p., softcover with bibliography and index.

$27.95

 

 

Greetings from Benton Harbor by Robert Myers. Founded on a ship canal in 1860, Benton Harbor became an economic and cultural center in southwest Michigan. The book spans Benton Harbor's history from the early 1800 to the 21st century. This volume of Historic Photobooks brings together a lively narrative and hundreds of vintage photographs from public institutions and private collections. 81/2 x 11", 390pps, softcover with bibliography and index.

$27.95

 

 

Historical Sketches of Berrien County; by Robert C. Myers features a collection of 152 colorful tales about the history of this southwest Michigan county. Learn about a priest’s opposition to teddy bears, the four flags of Niles, Three Oaks’ campaign against the world, and much more. 7 X 8-1/2”, softcover, 275 p.p., bibliography, index, photos, and illustrations.

$23.95

 

Locomotives Along the Lakeshore: Railroads of Berrien County, Michigan by curator Robert Myers, relates the history of each railroad line that operated in Berrien County. The 174-page book includes hundreds of photographs of railroad locomotives, depots and train crews, plus endnotes, a bibliography and index. Photographs in the book, most of which have never been published before, come from the History Center’s own collections and those of area museums and libraries, as well as many private collections.

$24.95

 

 

 THE GREAT AMERICAN READ is an eight-part series on PBS that explores and celebrates the power of reading, told through the prism of America’s 100 best-loved novels (as chosen in a national survey).  It investigates how and why writers create their fictional worlds, how we as readers are affected by these stories, and what these 100 different books have to say about our diverse nation and our shared human experience.  There will be a nationwide vote to choose America's most beloved book. Find the 100 book selections here and read and place your vote by clicking on image to the left!