Book Signing with Dean Kuipers, author of "The Deer Camp"

Meet Dean Kuipers as he speaks and signs his book,

The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land the Healed Them.

Wednesday, June 5 at 6:30 PM

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store.

 

For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding

memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan. 

 

"Wise, beautiful, honest writing about a landscape I love."

-- Bonnie Jo Campbell, author of Mothers Tell Your Daughters

 

"My favorite book of the year so far! My great-grandfather had a three-room family cabin outside of Ellsworth where my grandfather taught me to fish as a kid along with a parade of aunts, uncles, and cousins. This book brought back memories of that and family dynamics. Kuipers' views on the environment and our deep connection to it are related to the reader nearly like poetry. A joyful, entertaining, and moving reading experience."  Robin

Dean Kuipers is an author, journalist and editor with longstanding interests in ecology, music and good writing about anything at all.  He is the author of the 2009 nonfiction book, Operation Bite Back, which is the story of eco-radical Rod Coronado and the use of domestic terrorism charges against U.S. environmental activists. His book Burning Rainbow Farm, about the 2001 FBI shooting of two libertarian pot activists on a farm in Michigan, was selected as a 2007 Michigan Notable Book. He grew up in Mattawan, Michigan, graduated from Kalamazoo College, and now lives in Los Angeles.

 

 

 

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
312 State Street
St. Joseph, MI 49085
Staff Pick Badge
The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land that Healed Them Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781635573480
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 14th, 2019

My favorite book of the year so far! My great-grandfather had a three-room family cabin outside of Ellsworth where my grandfather taught me to fish as a kid along with a parade of aunts, uncles, and cousins. This book brought back memories of that and family dynamics. Kuipers' views on the environment and our deep connection to it are related to the reader nearly like poetry. A joyful, entertaining, and moving reading experience.


Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

We're happy to see you again in the store, largely thanks to your ongoing support of donations, book orders, and words of encourangement and love during the shut down❤️! There are some new conditions and store hours in place; please read over before you visit...

 

⭐️Masks must be worn by everyone over the age of three except for Poppy.


⭐️Staff will be wearing face shields.

⭐️ An acrylic counter shield is in place with hand sanitizer on counter. Charge card transactions are contact-free with no need to sign. As always, we take Apple Pay.  

⭐️ We are still offering contact-free pick up in our entryway. Call the store for ordering or order online and choose in-store pick up. Please choose "pay at store" instead of credit card pay if you would like your purchase to go towards your Forever Friends rewards account. You can then pay at pick up or over phone.  

⭐️Regrettably, our chairs have been removed except for one for persons with special needs. The children's play table and chairs have also been removed.
 

⭐️ At this time, our restroom is not open to the public.  

 

⭐️The front of the store is opened up and fixtures have been moved. While the store is more open, allowing for better socially distant traffic flow, our inventory level is normal for this time of year.  We have been stocking new releases all along, so come see what's new. If you don't see it on our shelves, shipments are arriving in 2-5 days, depending on the book. More non-book items are arriving daily.
 

⭐️ For now, our hours are: Monday-Saturday 10-6

  Sunday 11-5

We look forward to seeing you all soon!

 

Download the free Kobo app here...

Search for eBooks