Book Signing with Dean Kuipers, author of "The Deer Camp"

Meet Dean Kuipers as he speaks and signs his book,

The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land the Healed Them.

Wednesday, June 5 at 6:30 PM

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store.

 

For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding

memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan. 

 

"Wise, beautiful, honest writing about a landscape I love."

-- Bonnie Jo Campbell, author of Mothers Tell Your Daughters

 

"My favorite book of the year so far! My great-grandfather had a three-room family cabin outside of Ellsworth where my grandfather taught me to fish as a kid along with a parade of aunts, uncles, and cousins. This book brought back memories of that and family dynamics. Kuipers' views on the environment and our deep connection to it are related to the reader nearly like poetry. A joyful, entertaining, and moving reading experience."  Robin

Dean Kuipers is an author, journalist and editor with longstanding interests in ecology, music and good writing about anything at all.  He is the author of the 2009 nonfiction book, Operation Bite Back, which is the story of eco-radical Rod Coronado and the use of domestic terrorism charges against U.S. environmental activists. His book Burning Rainbow Farm, about the 2001 FBI shooting of two libertarian pot activists on a farm in Michigan, was selected as a 2007 Michigan Notable Book. He grew up in Mattawan, Michigan, graduated from Kalamazoo College, and now lives in Los Angeles.

 

 

 

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
312 State Street
St. Joseph, MI 49085
Staff Pick Badge
The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land that Healed Them Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781635573480
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 14th, 2019

My favorite book of the year so far! My great-grandfather had a three-room family cabin outside of Ellsworth where my grandfather taught me to fish as a kid along with a parade of aunts, uncles, and cousins. This book brought back memories of that and family dynamics. Kuipers' views on the environment and our deep connection to it are related to the reader nearly like poetry. A joyful, entertaining, and moving reading experience.


Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Forever Books Turns 20 in 2019!

April 1 was our 20th anniversary and we so enjoyed celebrating with so many of our customers and friends! 

 

As always, thank you for making us your community book store! 

Thanks also to the Herald Palladium for their story on our 20 years!

 

 

 

 

Celebrate Father's Day with a special story time and book signing with Natalie Ziarnik, author of A Lullaby of Summer Things

Sunday, June 16 from 1:00-3:00 PM

 

 

 

 

  Thursday, June 27 at 6:30 PM

 Book Signing with Chuck Nelson and

 Richard Schinkel, local authors of Nature Nuggets