Book Signing with Dean Kuipers, author of "The Deer Camp"

Meet Dean Kuipers as he speaks and signs his book,

The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land the Healed Them.

Wednesday, June 5 at 6:30 PM

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store.

 

For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding

memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan. 

 

"Wise, beautiful, honest writing about a landscape I love."

-- Bonnie Jo Campbell, author of Mothers Tell Your Daughters

 

"My favorite book of the year so far! My great-grandfather had a three-room family cabin outside of Ellsworth where my grandfather taught me to fish as a kid along with a parade of aunts, uncles, and cousins. This book brought back memories of that and family dynamics. Kuipers' views on the environment and our deep connection to it are related to the reader nearly like poetry. A joyful, entertaining, and moving reading experience."  Robin

Dean Kuipers is an author, journalist and editor with longstanding interests in ecology, music and good writing about anything at all.  He is the author of the 2009 nonfiction book, Operation Bite Back, which is the story of eco-radical Rod Coronado and the use of domestic terrorism charges against U.S. environmental activists. His book Burning Rainbow Farm, about the 2001 FBI shooting of two libertarian pot activists on a farm in Michigan, was selected as a 2007 Michigan Notable Book. He grew up in Mattawan, Michigan, graduated from Kalamazoo College, and now lives in Los Angeles.

 

 

 

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
312 State Street
St. Joseph, MI 49085
Staff Pick Badge
The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land that Healed Them Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781635573480
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 14th, 2019

My favorite book of the year so far! My great-grandfather had a three-room family cabin outside of Ellsworth where my grandfather taught me to fish as a kid along with a parade of aunts, uncles, and cousins. This book brought back memories of that and family dynamics. Kuipers' views on the environment and our deep connection to it are related to the reader nearly like poetry. A joyful, entertaining, and moving reading experience.


Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Forever Books Turned 20 April 1st, 2019!

Thank you for making us your community book store!

 

We have a new email! Please reach us at foreverbooks@att.net!

 

Tuesday, August 27 at 7:00 PM

Meet Larry and Sandy Feldman as they speak and sign their book,

Building Bridges Across the Racial Divide.

Click here for more info this event...

Building Bridges Across the Racial Divide offers a hopeful view of how well-constructed

diversity initiatives can combat entrenched racial prejudice and segregation in American life. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday, September 12 at 6:00 PM

Meet Dr. Irving Kaufman Arenberg, author of

Killing Vincent: The Man, the Myth, and the Murder, as he speaks and signs.

Wine and Cheese reception will begin at 6:00. The book talk will begin at 6:30

Reservations are requested, please call or email the store to reserve your seat.

Click here for more info on this book and event...