Book Signing with Dean Kuipers, author of "The Deer Camp"

Meet Dean Kuipers as he speaks and signs his book,

The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land the Healed Them.

Wednesday, June 5 at 6:30 PM

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store.

 

For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding

memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan. 

 

"Wise, beautiful, honest writing about a landscape I love."

-- Bonnie Jo Campbell, author of Mothers Tell Your Daughters

 

"My favorite book of the year so far! My great-grandfather had a three-room family cabin outside of Ellsworth where my grandfather taught me to fish as a kid along with a parade of aunts, uncles, and cousins. This book brought back memories of that and family dynamics. Kuipers' views on the environment and our deep connection to it are related to the reader nearly like poetry. A joyful, entertaining, and moving reading experience."  Robin

Dean Kuipers is an author, journalist and editor with longstanding interests in ecology, music and good writing about anything at all.  He is the author of the 2009 nonfiction book, Operation Bite Back, which is the story of eco-radical Rod Coronado and the use of domestic terrorism charges against U.S. environmental activists. His book Burning Rainbow Farm, about the 2001 FBI shooting of two libertarian pot activists on a farm in Michigan, was selected as a 2007 Michigan Notable Book. He grew up in Mattawan, Michigan, graduated from Kalamazoo College, and now lives in Los Angeles.

 

 

 

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
312 State Street
St. Joseph, MI 49085
Staff Pick Badge
The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land that Healed Them Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781635573480
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 14th, 2019

My favorite book of the year so far! My great-grandfather had a three-room family cabin outside of Ellsworth where my grandfather taught me to fish as a kid along with a parade of aunts, uncles, and cousins. This book brought back memories of that and family dynamics. Kuipers' views on the environment and our deep connection to it are related to the reader nearly like poetry. A joyful, entertaining, and moving reading experience.


Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Forever Books is your one-stop shopping destination this holiday season: we provide complimentary gift wrapping, can arrange for shipping, and have booksellers with over 50 years of combined experience to help you chose the perfect gift.

 

 Light up the Bluff and Window Wonderland

Friday, December 6 from 7:00-8:30 PM

Light up the Bluff will transform Lake Bluff Park on Friday, December 6, when the mayor flips the switch at dusk and a million lights twinkle on the community tree and holiday-themed displays.

Following the tree lighting, visitors can stroll downtown and enjoy Window Wonderland! Dozens of store fronts will participate in this holiday window decorating event from 7-8:30pm. 

 

21st Annual Reindog Holiday Parade & Storytime

Saturday, December 7 at 4:00 PM

The Annual Reindog Holiday Parade features dressed-up pets and their owners in a variety of holiday garb. Be prepared to see all kinds of costumes from "Santa Bernards" to  

"Reindeer  Rottweilers " -- this is definitely a must-see event. The parade starts at 4:00PM, and Poppy will be participating.

After the parade, come to Forever Books for a special storytime with Poppy. The featured book will be Pig the Elf.

 

Toys come and go, but stories last a lifetime.

Signed books make great gifts!

Two authors sign!

Saturday, December 14th 1 - 3 PM

Laurie Keller Signs her new book, Pluto Gets the Call

Laurie Keller is the bestselling author-illustrator of many books for kids, including Do Unto Otters, Potato Pants!,The Scrambled States of America

and the Adventures of Arnie the Doughnut chapter book mystery series. 

Click here for more info on these authors and event...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amy Young returns to Forever Books to join her friend Laurie Keller in signing at this event!