Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss

Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss, author of If the Creek Don't Rise

Thursday, August 2 at 6:30 PM at Forever Books

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store to save your seat! 

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days. That's long enough to know she should have never hitched herself to Roy Tupkin, even with the baby.

Sadie is desperate to make her own mark on the world, but in remote Appalachia, a ticket out of town is hard to come by, and hope often gets stomped out.  When a stranger sweeps into Baines Creek and knocks things off kilter, Sadie finds herself with an unexpected lifeline...if she can just figure out how to use it.

This intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community unfolds through the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek. With a colorful cast of characters that each contribute a new perspective, IF THE CREEK DON'T RISE is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

-"Writing with a deep knowledge of the enduring myths of Appalachia, Weiss vividly portrays real people and sorrows. A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy." - Library Journal

-"Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and Mitford series, by Jan Karon." - Booklist, starred review
 

 

 

 

Leah Weiss is a Southern writer born in the flat lands of North Carolina and raised in the foothills of Virginia where she loves hiking short stretches of the Appalachian Trail. Her debut novel, IF THE CREEK DON’T RISE, is set in the Appalachian mountains of North Carolina. The book has been chosen as an Indie Next, Okra Pick and LibraryReads. Leah retired in 2015 from a 24-year career as Executive Assistant to the Headmaster at Virginia Episcopal School. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Event date: 
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
312 State Street
St. Joseph, MI 49085

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

St. Joseph's Annual Luminary Festival &

Book Signing with Amy Young, Author of A Unicorn Named Sparkle's First Christmas!

 

Friday, November 16, 5:00 - 9:00 PM

Book Signing 6:30 - 8:30 PM

 

Click the picture for more info on this event and author!

Signed Books Make Great Gifts!

 

 Shop Small and Support your Local Economy!

Saturday, November 24th 

Book Signing with Author Margaret Willey from 1:00-3:00 PM

Free book (advance reader's copy) with any purchase over $20

 

Click on the picture for more info on the event and author!

 

The 2018 Holiday Catalog will soon be here!

Check out a preview here.

The actual catalog, which includes a coupon for 20% off one item in the store, will be included in the Herald Palladium Wednesday, November 14th and will be available at Forever Books starting that same day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Give the gift of reading to a child in need with our Giving Tree!
Pick a tag from the tree, purchase a book (we can help you select one!), and
we will wrap it and deliver it to the Readiness Center in Benton Harbor in
time for Christmas.