Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss

Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss, author of If the Creek Don't Rise

Thursday, August 2 at 6:30 PM at Forever Books

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store to save your seat! 

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days. That's long enough to know she should have never hitched herself to Roy Tupkin, even with the baby.

Sadie is desperate to make her own mark on the world, but in remote Appalachia, a ticket out of town is hard to come by, and hope often gets stomped out.  When a stranger sweeps into Baines Creek and knocks things off kilter, Sadie finds herself with an unexpected lifeline...if she can just figure out how to use it.

This intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community unfolds through the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek. With a colorful cast of characters that each contribute a new perspective, IF THE CREEK DON'T RISE is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

-"Writing with a deep knowledge of the enduring myths of Appalachia, Weiss vividly portrays real people and sorrows. A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy." - Library Journal

-"Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and Mitford series, by Jan Karon." - Booklist, starred review
 

 

 

 

Leah Weiss is a Southern writer born in the flat lands of North Carolina and raised in the foothills of Virginia where she loves hiking short stretches of the Appalachian Trail. Her debut novel, IF THE CREEK DON’T RISE, is set in the Appalachian mountains of North Carolina. The book has been chosen as an Indie Next, Okra Pick and LibraryReads. Leah retired in 2015 from a 24-year career as Executive Assistant to the Headmaster at Virginia Episcopal School. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Event date: 
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
312 State Street
St. Joseph, MI 49085

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Beautiful Thank You! cards from the students of Hollywood Elementary! Partnering with local schools to bring new books to students is one of our greatest joys! 

 

Friday, September 21 at 7:00 PM

Book Launch and Signing with Elizabeth Schmuhl, author of Premonitions

 Click here for more info on this author and event...

 

 

 

 

Saturday, September 22                    

Featuring author Leslie Helakoski!

 

 

 

 Storytime on the Bluff at 11:30 AM

 Storytime and activity at Forever Books at 1:00 PM

 Hear the story, Ready or Not, Woolbur Goes to School, read by   the author!

 

Tuesday, September 25 at 7:00 PM

Book Talk and Signing with Scott G. Bruce, author of The Penguin Book of Hell

Click here for more info on this author and event...

 

 

 

 

 

 THE GREAT AMERICAN READ is an eight-part series on PBS that explores and celebrates the power of reading, told through the prism of America’s 100 best-loved novels (as chosen in a national survey).  It investigates how and why writers create their fictional worlds, how we as readers are affected by these stories, and what these 100 different books have to say about our diverse nation and our shared human experience.  There will be a nationwide vote to choose America's most beloved book. Find the 100 book selections here and read and place your vote by clicking on image to the left!