Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss

Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss, author of If the Creek Don't Rise

Thursday, August 2 at 6:30 PM at Forever Books

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store to save your seat! 

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days. That's long enough to know she should have never hitched herself to Roy Tupkin, even with the baby.

Sadie is desperate to make her own mark on the world, but in remote Appalachia, a ticket out of town is hard to come by, and hope often gets stomped out.  When a stranger sweeps into Baines Creek and knocks things off kilter, Sadie finds herself with an unexpected lifeline...if she can just figure out how to use it.

This intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community unfolds through the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek. With a colorful cast of characters that each contribute a new perspective, IF THE CREEK DON'T RISE is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

-"Writing with a deep knowledge of the enduring myths of Appalachia, Weiss vividly portrays real people and sorrows. A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy." - Library Journal

-"Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and Mitford series, by Jan Karon." - Booklist, starred review
 

 

 

 

Leah Weiss is a Southern writer born in the flat lands of North Carolina and raised in the foothills of Virginia where she loves hiking short stretches of the Appalachian Trail. Her debut novel, IF THE CREEK DON’T RISE, is set in the Appalachian mountains of North Carolina. The book has been chosen as an Indie Next, Okra Pick and LibraryReads. Leah retired in 2015 from a 24-year career as Executive Assistant to the Headmaster at Virginia Episcopal School. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Event date: 
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
312 State Street
St. Joseph, MI 49085

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Forever Books Turns 20 in 2019!

We're off to a flying start with storytimes, book signings, and special events!

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday, February 26th at 7:00 PM

 

Book Signing with Anissa Gray,

author of The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

 Wine and Cheese Reception. Reservations are required. Please call  (269) 982-1110 or email.