Book Talk and Signing with Wade Rouse

Book Talk and Signing with Wade Rouse (writing as Viola Shipman)

author of The Recipe Box

Tuesday, June 19th, 7:00 PM

Treats from recipes in the book will be served, so reservations are requested. Please call (269) 982-1110 or email.

 

Growing up in northern Michigan, Samantha "Sam" Mullins felt trapped on her family's orchard and pie shop, so she left with dreams of making her own mark in the world. But life as an overworked, undervalued sous chef at a reality star's New York bakery is not what Sam dreamed.

When the chef embarrasses Sam, she quits and returns home. Unemployed, single, and defeated, she spends a summer working on her family's orchard cooking and baking. Sam begins to learn about and understand the women in her life, her family's history, and her passion for food through their treasured recipe box.  By the bestselling author of The Charm Bracelet and The Hope Chest. (Macmillan, $26.99, available now.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wade Rouse is the internationally bestselling author of seven books, including his latest novel, The Hope Chest, which launched in March from St. Martin's Press/Thomas Dunne Books, and The Charm Bracelet, which came out in paperback in January. To date, the novels, written under the pen name Viola Shipman, have been translated into over a dozen languages and resonated with readers around the world. Wade chose his grandmother’s name as his pen name in order to pay tribute to the woman whose heirlooms, lives, lessons and love inspire his fiction and inspired him to become a writer and the person he is today.

Wade is also the popular, critically acclaimed author of the memoirs America's BoyAt Least in the City Someone Would Hear Me ScreamConfessions of A Prep School Mommy Handler”and It's All Relative.

Wade's work has been selected multiple times as a Must-Read by NBC’s Today Show, featured on Chelsea Lately on E!, and been chosen three times by the nation's independent booksellers as an Indie Next Pick.

Wade has written for PeopleGood HousekeepingCoastal Living and Metrosource, among others, as well as been a regular contributor to All Things Considered, where he did a series of funny, poignant essays on family holidays. Wade's writing has also appeared in TimeForbesSalon, the Washington PostOutThe AdvocatePublisher’s Weekly and Writer’s DigestUSA Today calls Wade “a wise, witty, often wicked voice,” the Chicago Tribune’s Pulitzer Prize-winning cultural critic states that everyone should “read Wade Rouse, especially if you value laughter and wisdom", and Writer’s Digest recently named Wade the #2 Writer, Dead or Alive, “We'd Love to Have Drinks With” (Wade was just behind Ernest Hemingway, and just ahead of Hunter S. Thompson).

Wade earned his bachelor of arts in communications, with honors, from Drury University and his master of science in journalism from Northwestern University. He divides his time between the resort towns of Saugatuck-Douglas, Michigan, and the Palm Springs, California.

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, June 19, 2018 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
312 State Street
St. Joseph, MI 49085
The Recipe Box Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250146779
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - March 20th, 2018

Shop Locally, Here, 24/7!

Returning this July! "Where's Waldo in downtown St. Joseph?"

Where's Waldo? All around St. Joseph in the month of July! Pick up your passport from Forever Books on or after July 1st and find Waldo in local stores for a chance to win Where's Waldo prizes.  

A Waldo party and prize drawing will be held on Tuesday, July 31st from 6:30-7:00!

-Snack decorating, a final Waldo hunt in the store, free kid's book (publisher's advanced copy), and prize  drawing. Kids will be split into 2 age groups for activities.

 

 

 

Book Talk and Signing with Leah Weiss, author of If the Creek Don't Rise

Thursday, August 2 at 6:30 PM at Forever Books

Reservations Requested. Please call or email the store to save your seat! For more on this book and event click here...

This intimate insight into a fiercely proud, tenacious community unfolds through the voices of the forgotten folks of Baines Creek. With a colorful cast of characters that each contribute a new perspective, If the Creek Don't Rise is a debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit. 

 

 

 

 

 

“A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy.” Library Journal

“Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and the Mitford series, by Jan Karon.” Starred review, Booklist

 

Book Talk and Signing with Anna Clark, St. Joseph High School graduate and author of The Poisoned City: Flint's Water and the American Urban Tragedy

Thursday, August 2 from 6:00 - 7:30 PM at the St. Joseph Public Library.

Forever Books will be selling books prior to and at the event. Book releases July 10, pre-order this important work today!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bring Home Memories of Southwest Michigan with these Local Interest and History Books!

These local books are only available by calling the store at 269-982-1110 or by email at foreverbook@qtm.net.  Shipping services available.

View 366: A Year-long Visual Story of the St. Joseph Lighthouses is a journey into the changing days and seasons in the shadow of the century-old pair of iconic lighthouses situated in southwestern Michigan. This unique photographic story, chronicled by photographer and writer Laura Kraklau, documents 366 consecutive days of the St. Joseph lighthouses from August 26, 2011, through August 25, 2012. 

$65.00

 

 

Greetings from St Joseph by Robert C. Myers is a pictorial history of the city dating back to 1679. This book’s lively narrative spans the Colonial Era to the 21st century and includes chapters on St. Joseph’s domestic architecture, downtown, industries, transportation, schools, churches, and cultural organizations. Filled with photographs, maps, and drawings. 8 ½” X 11”, 323 p.p., softcover with bibliography and index.

$27.95

 

 

Greetings from Benton Harbor by Robert Myers. Founded on a ship canal in 1860, Benton Harbor became an economic and cultural center in southwest Michigan. The book spans Benton Harbor's history from the early 1800 to the 21st century. This volume of Historic Photobooks brings together a lively narrative and hundreds of vintage photographs from public institutions and private collections. 81/2 x 11", 390pps, softcover with bibliography and index.

$27.95

 

 

Historical Sketches of Berrien County; by Robert C. Myers features a collection of 152 colorful tales about the history of this southwest Michigan county. Learn about a priest’s opposition to teddy bears, the four flags of Niles, Three Oaks’ campaign against the world, and much more. 7 X 8-1/2”, softcover, 275 p.p., bibliography, index, photos, and illustrations.

$23.95

 

Locomotives Along the Lakeshore: Railroads of Berrien County, Michigan by curator Robert Myers, relates the history of each railroad line that operated in Berrien County. The 174-page book includes hundreds of photographs of railroad locomotives, depots and train crews, plus endnotes, a bibliography and index. Photographs in the book, most of which have never been published before, come from the History Center’s own collections and those of area museums and libraries, as well as many private collections.

$24.95

 

 

 THE GREAT AMERICAN READ is an eight-part series on PBS that explores and celebrates the power of reading, told through the prism of America’s 100 best-loved novels (as chosen in a national survey).  It investigates how and why writers create their fictional worlds, how we as readers are affected by these stories, and what these 100 different books have to say about our diverse nation and our shared human experience.  There will be a nationwide vote to choose America's most beloved book. Find the 100 book selections here and read and place your vote by clicking on image to the left!