Kids and Teen Books

Many members of our staff enjoy reading children's and young adult books! You will see reviews from many of us, plus some guest youth readers!

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Northwind Cover Image
$17.99
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780374314200
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - January 11th, 2022

This is the last book written by Paulsen, the author of Hatchet.  Leif is an orphan, raised by seaman on ships. At 12, he is set adrift on a canoe when the ship is besieged by cholera, and told to keep paddling north along the coast.  Like his other books, this one is a survival adventure in the wild with the wonder and danger of nature. -Robin


Staff Pick Badge
Pony Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553508116
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

Recommended by Diana! A great kids historical fiction and adventure, with some fantasy elements too!


Staff Pick Badge
Cinders and Sparrows Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062289964
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 12th, 2021

This is a great book for kids who love witches, magic, and the pathway to destiny. This is a must read and will sweep readers into the enchanted world of magic and witches! I loved it! Ages 9-12

                              -Guest Reviewer, Persephone, age 11


Staff Pick Badge
Kaleidoscope Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781338777246
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - September 21st, 2021

Fragmentary tales spin together with beautiful illustrations to tell a story of longing, togetherness, separateness, and — above all — love. Behind the kaleidoscope is the constant that we inevitably come together even when far apart. -Stephen


Staff Pick Badge
Little Bird Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062996909
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 14th, 2021

Little Bird is the smallest crow in her flock. When Our Luck (a gold chain) is stolen from the nest, she is determined to rescue it and her journey and what she encounters to find it changes her life. For readers of Charlotte’s Web or Babe. Ages 8-12. -Robin


Staff Pick Badge
Premeditated Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle Mystery 1) Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781643751870
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 7th, 2021

Mystery! Espionage! Detective work! This exceptionally clever and lively Victorian English-village murder mystery stars wickedly clever 12-year-old Myrtle and is the first in a series. Smart, with sophisticated vocabulary, a real treasure. Loved it so much and the second and third installments are just as good! Ages 10-up. -Recommended by Robin


Staff Pick Badge
Eleanor, Alice, and the Roosevelt Ghosts Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780823449910
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Holiday House - September 7th, 2021

This is a great book for readers who love ghosts and history! Chapters 19-21 just gave me chills. I had to keep reading! - Guest Reader Persephone, age 10


Staff Pick Badge
A Whale of the Wild Cover Image
By Rosanne Parry, Lindsay Moore (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062995933
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - August 31st, 2021

A Whale Of The Wild is a story of two whales (a sister and brother) who experience a tsunami and because of it basically everyone they know disappears. In order to take care of her younger brother, Vega has to learn to be strong. I enjoyed the book and would reccomend it; especially to animal lovers. -Guest Reader Will, age 11


Staff Pick Badge
Healer of the Water Monster Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062990402
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Heartdrum - May 11th, 2021

In a world of Holy beings and the Navajo language, stories, and so much more, young Nathan goes to stay with his grandmother in her mobile home. While there, he finds an ancient water monster, (a holy being) on the verge of death. Nathan has now promised to help heal the water monster and he is aided by other holy beings that are from the ancient Navajo stories.  He will face tough challenges, deep friendships, and the beautiful power of the holy beings."
by Persephone (age 11, guest reviewer)


Staff Pick Badge
Thornlight Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062696663
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - April 20th, 2021

In a book called Thornlight, in a city called the Vale, two twins named Thorn and Brier find themselves thrown into a twisted and chaotic plot of magic.  Thorn and Brier, each running separate paths, seek help to stop a darkness from destroying the vale.  Among this, a desperate young queen must realize that she must be sacrificed in order to stop the darkness and save the vale. - Persephone, guest reviewer (age 11)


Staff Pick Badge
The Elephant in the Room Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735229945
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - March 2nd, 2021

Sila has always loved elephants, so it’s exciting when she has the chance to befriend an elephant rescued from a closing circus. The elephant’s new owner, whose wife was Sila’s 2nd grade teacher, and Matteo, a boy who is quite “different” from all of her friends, are hired to help take care of Veda the elephant. One of the best books I’ve read this year! It made me cry at the end, but it was a “happy” cry! Ages 10-up. Robin


Staff Pick Badge
The Age of Dinosaurs: The Rise and Fall of the World’s Most Remarkable Animals Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062930170
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 2nd, 2021

Roar! Do you like dinosaurs? If you do, than do you want to learn some mind blowing, astonishing, and remarkable facts and information about dinosaurs? When you read this book, you will learn about evolution, the age before the dinosaurs, the dinosaur age, and even about how dinosaurs evolved into the birds we see today. This is a great book for people who love learning about the world's most mysterious and amazing creatures! -Persephone, Guest Reviewer, age 11.
 
 


Staff Pick Badge
One Jar of Magic Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062689856
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 9th, 2021

This book has strong emotion and has an entrancing story. I found this book absolutely amazing and know that for kids who love magic, adventure, and the quest to find your true self, this will be a great book. It teaches an important lesson that magic isn't the answer to everything and that people are better off without magic. This book will take readers on a wild adventure. -Persephone, age 11


Staff Pick Badge
The In-Between Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062916099
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - January 26th, 2021

This book is great for kids who love mystery, bravery, and friendship. Two great kids in this book sacrifice themselves for two other friends. My favorite part is when Cooper and Jess mend fences and work together to solve a century old mystery. This book also teaches about a powerful, important feeling: forgiveness. This is a great book for ages 11 and up who love unsolved mysteries and friendship. -Persphone, age 11


Staff Pick Badge
Charming as a Verb Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062824141
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 13th, 2020

This may be a teen book but the clever characters and unique plot in this modern romance will charm audiences of all ages. While running a side hustle of dog walking to help fund his dreams of attending Columbia University, Henri meets a neigbor who challanges his already complicated life. Great setting that transports you to the bustle of New York City. -Beth


Staff Pick Badge
Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

The last thing Badger wants is a roommate, and certainly not Skunk, but since the house does not belong to him he does not have a choice. Soon everything in Badger's quiet and ordered life studying rocks is turned upside down. And where on earth did all the chickens come from? Ages 7-10.  - Robin


Staff Pick Badge
Extraordinary Birds Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781547601431
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - April 28th, 2020

11 year old December has been in foster care when she is placed with a woman who rehabilitates injured birds. December helps her prepare an injured red-tailed hawk to go back into the wild. An orphan story filled with hope and kindness. So-o good! -Robin


Staff Pick Badge
Finding Orion Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062643902
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - April 7th, 2020

When your grandfather chooses to have his death announced by a singing clown telegram, you know the funeral is going to be something else, but a scavanger hunt for the deceased's ashes? Rion's family may be odd, but there's lots of love there as well in this offbeat, heartwarming book.