Kids and Teen Books

Many members of our staff enjoy reading children's and young adult books! You will see reviews from many of us, plus some guest youth readers!

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Fenris & Mott By Greg van Eekhout Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062970633
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - August 2nd, 2022

Mott finds what she thinks is an abandoned puppy, who turns out to be not only a wolf, but actually Fenris, the Moon-eating wolf who will bring about Ragnarok --the end of the world in Norse mythology. Can Mott keep herself and Fenris safe from the Norse gods pursuing them and also keep him from eating Los Angeles? Read and find out!  -Stephen


Staff Pick Badge
Odder By Katherine Applegate, Charles Santoso (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250147424
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 20th, 2022

A baby otter is orphaned in a storm and raised by scientists at California's Monterery Bay Aquarium and returned to the ocean, but rescued again after being attacked by a shark. In the back of the book you can read the real life story of the otter. So good!  -Robin


Staff Pick Badge
The Turtle of Michigan: A Novel By Naomi Shihab Nye Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063014169
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - March 15th, 2022

8-year-old Aref and his mother leave their home in Oman and his grandfather to join his father in Ann Arbor, Michigan for three years. Excellent, positive story what it means to adjust to a new place and meeting new friends of all ages. And turtles, don't forget turtles. -Robin


Staff Pick Badge
The Ogress and the Orphans By Kelly Barnhill Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781643750743
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - March 8th, 2022

A kind ogress leaves food on people's doorsteps, but when a child goes missing from the orphanage, the town accuses her. And is the mayor REALLY a human? And who destroyed the library years ago? I loved this book!  -Robin


Staff Pick Badge
Cress Watercress By Gregory Maguire, David Litchfield (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Gregory Maguire, David Litchfield (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781536211009
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - March 29th, 2022

When Papa doesn't return from honey-gathering, Cress, her mother and baby brother move to the basement unit of the Broken Arms, a run-down apartment oak with a suspect owl landlord, a nosy mouse super, a rowdy family of squirrels, and a pair of songbirds who broadcast everyone's business. A novel of bravery, whatever your age. Lovely illustrations! -Robin


Staff Pick Badge
The Last Mapmaker By Christina Soontornvat Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536204957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - April 12th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Northwind By Gary Paulsen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374314200
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - January 11th, 2022

This is the last book written by Paulsen, the author of Hatchet.  Leif is an orphan, raised by seaman on ships. At 12, he is set adrift on a canoe when the ship is besieged by cholera, and told to keep paddling north along the coast.  Like his other books, this one is a survival adventure in the wild with the wonder and danger of nature. -Robin


Staff Pick Badge
Pony By R. J. Palacio Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553508116
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

Recommended by Diana! A great kids historical fiction and adventure, with some fantasy elements too!


Staff Pick Badge
Cinders and Sparrows By Stefan Bachmann Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062289964
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 12th, 2021

This is a great book for kids who love witches, magic, and the pathway to destiny. This is a must read and will sweep readers into the enchanted world of magic and witches! I loved it! Ages 9-12

                              -Guest Reviewer, Persephone, age 11


Staff Pick Badge
Kaleidoscope By Brian Selznick Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781338777246
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - September 21st, 2021

Fragmentary tales spin together with beautiful illustrations to tell a story of longing, togetherness, separateness, and — above all — love. Behind the kaleidoscope is the constant that we inevitably come together even when far apart. -Stephen


Staff Pick Badge
Little Bird By Cynthia Voigt Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062996909
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 14th, 2021

Little Bird is the smallest crow in her flock. When Our Luck (a gold chain) is stolen from the nest, she is determined to rescue it and her journey and what she encounters to find it changes her life. For readers of Charlotte’s Web or Babe. Ages 8-12. -Robin


Staff Pick Badge
Premeditated Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle Mystery 1) By Elizabeth C. Bunce Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781643751870
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 7th, 2021

Mystery! Espionage! Detective work! This exceptionally clever and lively Victorian English-village murder mystery stars wickedly clever 12-year-old Myrtle and is the first in a series. Smart, with sophisticated vocabulary, a real treasure. Loved it so much and the second and third installments are just as good! Ages 10-up. -Recommended by Robin


Staff Pick Badge
Eleanor, Alice, and the Roosevelt Ghosts By Dianne K. Salerni Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780823449910
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Holiday House - September 7th, 2021

This is a great book for readers who love ghosts and history! Chapters 19-21 just gave me chills. I had to keep reading! - Guest Reader Persephone, age 10


Staff Pick Badge
A Whale of the Wild By Rosanne Parry, Lindsay Moore (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Rosanne Parry, Lindsay Moore (Illustrator)
$7.99
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780062995933
Published: Greenwillow Books - August 31st, 2021

A Whale Of The Wild is a story of two whales (a sister and brother) who experience a tsunami and because of it basically everyone they know disappears. In order to take care of her younger brother, Vega has to learn to be strong. I enjoyed the book and would reccomend it; especially to animal lovers. -Guest Reader Will, age 11


Staff Pick Badge
The Elephant in the Room By Holly Goldberg Sloan Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780735229952
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Rocky Pond Books - March 1st, 2022

Sila has always loved elephants, so it’s exciting when she has the chance to befriend an elephant rescued from a closing circus. The elephant’s new owner, whose wife was Sila’s 2nd grade teacher, and Matteo, a boy who is quite “different” from all of her friends, are hired to help take care of Veda the elephant. One of the best books I’ve read this year! It made me cry at the end, but it was a “happy” cry! Ages 10-up. Robin


Staff Pick Badge
One Jar of Magic By Corey Ann Haydu Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062689870
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 23rd, 2022

This book has strong emotion and has an entrancing story. I found this book absolutely amazing and know that for kids who love magic, adventure, and the quest to find your true self, this will be a great book. It teaches an important lesson that magic isn't the answer to everything and that people are better off without magic. This book will take readers on a wild adventure. -Persephone, age 11


Staff Pick Badge
The In-Between By Rebecca K.S. Ansari Cover Image
$7.99
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780062916105
Published: Walden Pond Press - February 8th, 2022

This book is great for kids who love mystery, bravery, and friendship. Two great kids in this book sacrifice themselves for two other friends. My favorite part is when Cooper and Jess mend fences and work together to solve a century old mystery. This book also teaches about a powerful, important feeling: forgiveness. This is a great book for ages 11 and up who love unsolved mysteries and friendship. -Persphone, age 11


Staff Pick Badge
Charming as a Verb By Ben Philippe Cover Image
$10.99
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780062824264
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 1st, 2022

This may be a teen book but the clever characters and unique plot in this modern romance will charm audiences of all ages. While running a side hustle of dog walking to help fund his dreams of attending Columbia University, Henri meets a neigbor who challanges his already complicated life. Great setting that transports you to the bustle of New York City. -Beth


Staff Pick Badge
Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

The last thing Badger wants is a roommate, and certainly not Skunk, but since the house does not belong to him he does not have a choice. Soon everything in Badger's quiet and ordered life studying rocks is turned upside down. And where on earth did all the chickens come from? Ages 7-10.  - Robin